Don't Have an In-State NFL Team? Here's Your Guide for Who to Root for!

Dmitri DugganContributor IIJuly 20, 2010

There are only 22 states that actually have an in-state NFL Franchise. That leaves 28 states, and millions of people, wondering who they should root for.

Instead of bandwagoning, I think all states without an in-state team should root for a team in a local state. Can't think of a local state? Here's your guide, in alphabetical order.

Alabama: The Tennessee Titans, The New Orleans Saints, The Carolina Panthers.

Alaska: Try the CFL? Otherwise, just root for whatever team you want.

Arkansas: The New Orleans Saints, The Tennessee Titans, The Houston Texans.

Delaware: The New England Patriots, the New York Giants, or the Pittsburgh Steelers

Hawaii: Just root for whatever team. You're out in the middle of nowhere (:D).

Idaho: The Seattle Seahawks—I'm really sorry, but that's the only local team.

Iowa: The Minnesota Vikings, The Green Bay Packers, or, if you're cool, the Chicago Bears.

Kansas: The Kansas City Chiefs in nearby Missouri—that's pretty obvious...

Kentucky: The Indianapolis Colts, The Tennessee Titans, or The Cincinnati Bengals.

Mississippi: The New Orleans Saints, The Tennessee Titans, or the Atlanta Falcons.

Montana: The Seattle Seahawks, or the Denver Broncos (kind of far away).

Nebraska: The Denver Broncos, or the Kansas City Chiefs.

Nevada: The Arizona Cardinals, the Oakland Raiders, or the San Francisco 49ers.

New Mexico: The Arizona Cardinals, the Houston Texans, or the Dallas Cowboys.

North Dakota: The Minnesota Vikings.

Oklahoma: The Kansas City Chiefs, the Dallas Cowboys, or the Houston Texans.

Oregon: The Seattle Seahawks, the Oakland Raiders, or the San Francisco 49ers.

South Dakota: The Minnesota Vikings.

Utah: The Denver Broncos or the Arizona Cardinals.

Virginia: The Washington Redskins, the Carolina Panthers, or the Tennessee Titans.

West Virginia: The Pittsburgh Steelers, the Washington Redskins, or the Baltimore Ravens.

Wyoming: The Denver Broncos.

Connecticut,  Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire , Rhode Island, and Vermont are all part of New England, therefore are represented by the New England Patriots.

Teams put in italics carry the risk of its fans being labeled as "bandwagoners."

That's all! Wow, this took forever.

©2010 by Dmitri Duggan. Do not re-post without giving distinctive credit to Dmitri Duggan.


The latest in the sports world, emailed daily.