Unknown NBA Champions

Isaiah MontoyaCorrespondent IJune 16, 2010

  Who is Jon McGlocklin? Clay Johnson? Jerry Sichting? They are all NBA champions with Finals minutes played for their team that won it all in their respective years. This is a list of players since 1970 who were overshadowed in their team's championship glory.

1970—New York Knicks—John Warren, Bill Hosket, Nate Bowman, Mike Riordan and Dave Stallworth.

1971—Milwaukee Bucks—Marv Winkler, Bob Greacen, Dick Cunningham, Jeff Webb, McCoy McLemore, Bob Boozer, Lucius Allen, Greg Smith and Jon McGlocklin (pictured).

1972—L.A. Lakers—John Trapp, Jim Cleamons, Flynn Robinson, Leroy Ellis, Pat Riley, Happy Hairston and Jim McMillian.

1973—New York Knicks—Dean Meminger and John Gianelli.

1974—Boston Celtics—Steve Kuberski, Art Williams, Phil Hankinson, Hank Finkel and Paul Westphal.

1975—Golden State Warriors—Steve Bracey, Bill Bridges, Charles Dudley, George Johnson, Clifford Ray, Derrek Dickey, Butch Beard, Phil Smith, Charles Johnson and Jeff Mullins.

1976—Boston Celtics—Tom Boswell, Jerome Anderson, Kevin Stacom, Glen McDonald, Jim Ard, Charlie Scott and Steve Kuberski.

1977—Portland Trailblazers—Robin James, Wally Walker, Larry Steele, Corky Calhoun, Herm Gilliam, Dave Twardzik, Lloyd Neal, Johnny Davis, Lionel Hollins and Bob Gross.

  1978—Washington Bullets—Phil Walker, Joe Pace, Greg Ballard, Larry Wright, Charles Johnson and Tom Henderson.

1979—Seattle Supersonics—Joe Hassell, Wally Walker, Den Awtrey, Lonnie Shelton, Fred Brown and John Johnson.

1980—L.A. Lakers—Marty Byrnes, Brad Hollard, Mark Landsberger and Jim Chones.

1981—Boston Celtics—Eric Fersten, Terry Duerod, Rick Robey and Chris Ford.

1982—L.A. Lakers—Eddie Jordan, Clay Johnson, Mark Landsberger, Jim Brewer and Mike McGee.

1983—Philadelphia 76ers—Reggie Johnson, Franklin Edwards, Earl Cureton, Mark McNamara, Clemon Johnson, Mark Iavaroni and Clint Richardson.

1984—Boston Celtics—Greg Kite, Carlos Clark, Quinn Buckner and Scott Wedman.

1985—L.A. Lakers—Chuck Nevitt, Ronnie Lester, Larry Spriggs, Mike McGee and Mitch Kupchak.

1986—Boston Celtics—Scott Wedman, David Thirdkill, Sam Vincent, Greg Kite, Rick Carlisle and Jerry Sichting.

1987—L.A. Lakers—Mike Smrek, Wes Matthews and Adrian Branch.

1988—L.A. Lakers—Mike Smrek, Wes Matthews, and Milt Wagner.

1989—Detroit Piston—Micheal Williams, Fennis Dembo and John Long.

1990—Detroit Piston—Scott Hastings, Gerald Henderson and Dave Greenwood.

1991—Chicago Bulls—Dennis Hopson.

1992—Chicago Bulls—Bobby Hansen.

1993—Chicago Bulls—Darrell Walker, Rodney McCray and Trent Tucker.

1994—Houston Rockets—Chris Jent, Earl Cureton and Matt Bullard.

1995—Houston Rockets—Pete Chilcutt and Charles Jones.

1996—Chicago Bulls—Judd Buechler.

1997—Chicago Bulls—Jud Buechler and Jason Caffey.

1998—Chicago Bulls—Dickey Simpkins.

1999—S.A. Spurs—Gerard King.

2000—L.A. Lakers—Travis Knight.

2001—L.A. Lakers—Mark Madsen.

2002—L.A. Lakers—Mark Madsen and Stanislav Medvedenko.

2003—S.A. Spurs—Danny Ferry.

2004—Detroit Pistons—Darko Milicic, Darvin Ham, Mike James, Mehmet Okur and Elden Campbell.

2005—S.A. Spurs—Tony Massenburg.

2006—Miami Heat—Jason Kapono and Michael Doleac.

2007—S.A. Spurs—Jacque Vaughn.

2008—Boston Celtics—P.J. Brown, Leon Powe.

2009—L.A. Lakers—Adam Morrison (no Finals minutes).

2010—Who will this year's unknown champions be?


The latest in the sports world, emailed daily.