NFL MVP 2014-15: Winner, Voting Results and Twitter Reaction

Joseph Zucker@@JosephZuckerFeatured ColumnistFebruary 1, 2015

Dec 21, 2014; Tampa, FL, USA; Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers (12) throws the ball against the Tampa Bay Buccaneers during the first half at Raymond James Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

The 2014 season might have ended in heartbreak for the Green Bay Packers, but quarterback Aaron Rodgers can take solace in the fact that he won a major piece of hardware to close out the campaign.

The 31-year-old earned the second Most Valuable Player Award of his career on Saturday night during NFL Honors:


R-E-L-A-X, @Packers fans! @AaronRodgers12 is the 2014 M-V-P! #NFLHonors http://t.co/zvbnPPrWEW

Rodgers was beyond impressive during the regular season, helping the Packers finish 12-4 while throwing for 4,381 yards, 38 touchdowns and five interceptions. According to ESPN Stats & Info, his touchdown-to-interception ratio was double Tony Romo's, who sat second place in the category:

ESPN Stats & Info @ESPNStatsInfo

Aaron Rodgers wins the MVP. His TD-Int ratio this season was twice as good the next-closest player http://t.co/N4YoZBnTlK

Some wondered whether J.J. Watt would be the first defensive player to be MVP since Lawrence Taylor in 1986. While the Houston Texans defensive tackle finished second to Rodgers, he was still 18 first-place votes behind.

Sports Illustrated's Aaron Nagler provided a full breakdown of the voting:

Aaron Nagler @AaronNagler

Rodgers: 31 votes. Watt: 13 votes Murray: 2 votes Romo: 2 votes Brady: 1 vote Wagner: 1 vote Wagner? Really?

Watt's 13 votes were still by far the most a defensive player had collected for some time, per Michael David Smith of Pro Football Talk:

Michael David Smith @MichaelDavSmith

J.J. Watt got 13 MVP votes. First time this century a defensive player got more than three MVP votes.

While Watt made a strong case, few will offer much argument as to Rodgers' credentials.

That Rodgers managed to win the MVP Award but miss out on Offensive Player of the Year—which instead went to DeMarco Murray, per the NFL—is something that Fox Sports' Mike Garafolo found a bit odd:

Mike Garafolo @MikeGarafolo

Aaron Rodgers named the MVP but not offensive player of the year. Alrighty.

Even more puzzling was the lone vote for Seattle Seahawks linebacker Bobby Wagner. Bleacher Report's Mike Freeman was one of many questioning that choice:

mike freeman @mikefreemanNFL

Who was it that voted for Bobby Wagner for MVP? Seriously, who was that?

In the end, it's all about who won, though.

Rodgers' numbers speak for themselves, and when you combine them with the Packers' success on the field, he was an easy choice for MVP.