MLB Manager of the Year 2014: AL and NL Winners, Voting Results and Reaction

Timothy Rapp@@TRappaRTFeatured ColumnistNovember 12, 2014

SAN FRANCISCO, CA - OCTOBER 07:  Manager Matt Williams #9 of the Washington Nationals looks on in the dugout prior to Game Four of the National League Division Series against the San Francisco Giants at AT&T Park on October 7, 2014 in San Francisco, California.  (Photo by Thearon W. Henderson/Getty Images)
Thearon W. Henderson/Getty Images

The Baseball Writer's Association of America announced the 2014 Manager of the Year awards Tuesday evening, as Matt Williams of the Washington Nationals won in the National League and Buck Showalter of the Baltimore Orioles won in the American League.    

Here are the National League voting results:

National League Voting
Manager, Team1st2nd3rd*Points
Matt Williams, Washington Nationals1861109
Clint Hurdle, Pittsburgh Pirates812480
Bruce Bochy, San Francisco Giants33630
Mike Matheny, St. Louis Cardinals-5318
Mike Redmond, Miami Marlins12516
Don Mattingly, Los Angeles Dodgers-1912
Ron Roenicke, Milwaukee Brewers-1-3
Bud Black, San Diego Padres--11
Terry Collins, New York Mets--11
BBWAA. *Based on 5-3-1 scoring system

And here are the American League results:

American League Voting
Manager, Team1st2nd3rd*Points
Buck Showalter, Orioles2531132
Mike Scioscia, Angels411861
Ned Yost, Royals-11841
Lloyd McClendon, Mariners15929
Terry Francona, Indians--22
Joe Girardi, Yankees--11
Bob Melvin, Athletics--11
BBWAA. * Based on 5-3-1 scoring system

Williams led the Nationals to a 96-66 record, the best in the National League, and topped the NL East by 17 games. While the team stumbled in the postseason, keep in mind that the BBWAA awards only take into consideration the regular season. 

Williams quickly deflected any credit for the award to his team, per MLB Network PR:

MLB Network PR @MLBNetworkPR

Williams on winning NL #MOY: “It’s a great moment for our guys. It takes a village. The players are ferocious and intense.”

Still, he joined a pretty exclusive group, per the MLB on Twitter:


Matt Williams is the 4th first-year skipper to win #MOY, joining Hal Lanier (HOU, 1986), Dusty Baker (SF, 1993) and Joe Girardi (MIA, 2006).

Eric James Byrnes of the MLB Network thought Williams was more than deserving:

Video Play Button
Videos you might like
Eric Byrnes @byrnes22

Great to see @Nationals Matt Williams win NL Manager of the Year. One of most intense & well respected people within the baseball community.

Meanwhile, Showalter won this award for the third time in his career. Despite injuries throughout the 2014 campaign to key players like Matt Wieters and Manny Machado, Showalter led the Orioles to a 96-66 record and an AL East title, arguably the most competitive division in baseball. 

KANSAS CITY, MO - OCTOBER 14:  Buck Showalter #26 of the Baltimore Orioles looks on during batting practice prior to Game Three of the American League Championship Series against the Kansas City Royals at Kauffman Stadium on October 14, 2014 in Kansas Cit
Ed Zurga/Getty Images

Showalter also has a knack for winning this award in regular increments, as ESPN Stats & Info tweeted:

ESPN Stats & Info @ESPNStatsInfo

Buck Showalter named AL Manager of the Year. He's won the award in 1994, 2004 and 2014, each time with a different team

Of course, perhaps Showalter winning the award shouldn't come as a surprise. According to the MLB Fan Cave on Twitter, everybody loves Buck:

Cut4 @Cut4

Everybody loves AL #MOY Buck Showalter. https://t.co/Hpw12SnRiC

Both managers were deserving of the award. The dominance of the Nationals in the NL East was hard to ignore, while Showalter's job in the brutal AL East despite major injuries was nothing short of incredible.

One would expect both of these managers would have their respective teams in the postseason race again next season.

Follow TRappaRT on Twitter

slash iconYour sports. Delivered.

Enjoy our content? Join our newsletter to get the latest in sports news delivered straight to your inbox!