Mr. Olympia 2012 Results: Winners, Complete Events Recap & More

Mike Moraitis@@michaelmoraitisAnalyst ISeptember 30, 2012

MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - MARCH 16:  Mr Olympia Phil Heath poses during a media call ahead of the 2012 IFBB Australian Pro Grand Prix XIII on March 16, 2012 in Melbourne, Australia.  (Photo by Robert Cianflone/Getty Images)
Robert Cianflone/Getty Images

The 2012 Mr. Olympia competition is complete and the winner on the men's side is Phil Heath, who has successfully defended his crown from 2011.

As the event went on, it was clear that Mr. Olympia 2012 was a two-man race between Heath and fellow competitor Kai Greene.

Things were looking great for Greene at the start, but after going side-by-side with Heath during the confirmation round, Greene looked inferior to the reigning champion.

The roundness of Heath's muscles topped that of Greene's and while the two were comparable from the back, Heath's density made the difference. It was Heath's rear lat pose that showed his superior thickness.

Evan Centopani was a pleasant surprise this year as the rookie finished strong in his Mr. Olympia debut, placing eighth.

Many people wrote off Toney Freeman as being finished in bodybuilding, but the 46-year-old went on to impress his way to a seventh-place finish.

Shawn Rhoden had an extremely impressive showing this year, improving on his 11th place in his last Mr. Olympia competition to third in the 2012 version.

Video Play Button
Videos you might like

Next year looks to be an even more exciting event than the 2013 version. We already know that Greene and Heath are in a class all their own, but the inclusion of four-time champion Jay Cutler will add another element to this competition. Cutler had to miss 2012 because of an injury.

The 2013 Mr. Olympia will no doubt be a three-man race between Heath, Greene and Cutler, barring injury.

Let's take a look at the full results for all the major events.

2012 Mr. Olympia Results

1. Phil Heath

2. Kai Greene

3. Shawn Rhoden

4. Dexter Jackson

5. Branch Warren

6. Dennis Wolf

7. Toney Freeman

8. Evan Centopani

9. Johnnie Jackson

10. Lionel Beyeke 

212 Division Results

1. Flex Lewis

2. David Henry

3. Eduardo Correa da Silva

4. Jose Raymond

5. Al Auguste

6. Tricky Johnson

Figure Results

1. Erin Stern  

2. Nicole Wilkins

3. Candice Keene

4. Heather Dees

5. Mallory Haldeman

6. Teresa Anthony


The latest in the sports world, emailed daily.