Indy 500 Results 2021: Helio Castroneves Wins 4th Career Title at IMS

Rob Goldberg@@TheRobGoldbergFeatured Columnist IVMay 30, 2021

Helio Castroneves of Brazil celebrates after winning the Indianapolis 500 auto race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Indianapolis, Sunday, May 30, 2021. (AP Photo/Michael Conroy)
AP Photo/Michael Conroy

Helio Castroneves etched his name in history after winning the 105th running of the Indianapolis 500.

The driver earned his fourth career victory in the historic race after beating Alex Palou across the finish line Sunday. The win was Castroneves' first at Indianapolis Motor Speedway since 2009, but it ties him for the most Indy 500 victories in the history of the sport with A.J. Foyt, Al Unser Sr. and Rick Mears.

The No. 6 car pulled ahead of Palou in the final few laps and earned the win by 0.4928 seconds.

Pole-winner Scott Dixon finished in 17th place.

Indianapolis 500 Results

1. Helio Castroneves

2. Alex Palou

3. Simon Pagenaud

4. Pato O'Ward

5. Ed Carpenter

6. Santino Ferrucci

7. Sage Karam

8. Rinus VeeKay

9. Juan Pablo Montoya

10. Tony Kanaan

Full results available at IndyCar.com.

There were 33 entries in the 200-lap race, but there were arguably four real contenders over the final 50 laps.

Alex Palou, Helio Castroneves, Pato O'Ward and Simon Pagenaud paced themselves well with their pit stops before battling for positioning over the final dozen laps.

The big move came with two laps to go as Castroneves blew right past Palou for the lead.

Sky Sports F1 @SkySportsF1

The pass that clinched #Indy500 No 4⃣. <br><br>Holding your nerve on the final lap.<br><br>Re-live the gripping closing moments of a chaotic race as Helio Castroneves wins at the Brickyard! πŸ‡§πŸ‡·πŸ’ͺπŸ‡ΊπŸ‡Έ#SkyF1 | #INDYCAR pic.twitter.com/Yyp4fqrrkX

Indianapolis Motor Speedway @IMS

Every fan is on their feet!@h3lio takes the lead!#ThisIsMay | #Indy500 pic.twitter.com/nymtvWjEBk

The 46-year-old held on for the victory before a raucous celebration:

IndyCar on NBC @IndyCaronNBC


It was a memorable finish to an outstanding race from the veteran driver.

Scott Dixon looked like an early favorite starting on the pole, but his lead didn't last long as Colton Herta and then Rinus VeeKay quickly moved to the front. It might have been part of the plan for Dixon, but his strategy backfired about 30 laps into the race when some drama on pit road led to a shakeup in the standings.


REPLAY: Heartbreak for @stef_Wilson after this incident in pit lane.<br><br>πŸ“Ί: @NBC<br>πŸ“²: INDYCAR Mobile - https://t.co/vyuISIgHnX#INDYCAR // #INDY500 pic.twitter.com/D4ve2c552a

IndyCar on NBC @IndyCaronNBC

Disaster for Scott Dixon!<br><br>The #Indy500 pole-sitter is going the wrong way as he goes a lap down at @IMS. Watch on @NBC. pic.twitter.com/oLn72Y9D8o

Olivia Ray @OliviaRayWISH

Looks like Rossi having the same issues. <br><br>Disastrous for two former winners. https://t.co/axXdql00Yk

Stefan Wilson's day ended prematurely with the accident, while Dixon and Alexander Rossi fell a lap behind. Wilson was still the only driver out of the race at the halfway point, the fewest in Indy 500 history, per SpeedFreaks.

At the front of the race, VeeKay and Conor Daly each led the pack for extended stretches until deciding to pit. A variety of names continued to cycle to the front as the race continued, but no one could take control.

Scott Horner @ScottEHorner

8 drivers have led at least 1 lap in this #Indy500 (Palou, Castroneves, O'Ward, Daly, Dixon, Herta, VeeKay, Rahal) through 114 laps. 14 drivers led in the 2013 race.

The biggest movement came on the 119th lap when Graham Rahal lost a wheel and eventually hit the wall. 

IndyCar on NBC @IndyCaronNBC

Graham Rahal loses a wheel and hits the wall in the #Indy500.<br><br>The wheel then hits Conor Daly's aeroscreen, but Daly is able to continue. TV: @NBC. pic.twitter.com/dIeS5zg5qt

Rahal had been conserving fuel but lost his chance to win with the crash.

Takuma Sato and Felix Rosenqvist eventually moved in front, although they each needed to refuel before top contenders Palou, Castroneves, O'Ward and Pagenaud.

It eventually came down to Palou and Castroneves, and the more experienced driver came out in front. 

The season continues with the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix races on June 12 and 13, giving Castroneves plenty of time to celebrate his latest victory.


The latest in the sports world, emailed daily.