Can The Colts Peyton Manning Three-Peat With The MVP Award?

Walker DanielsCorrespondent IJune 9, 2010

MIAMI GARDENS, FL - FEBRUARY 07:  Peyton Manning #18 of the Indianapolis Colts leaves the field after his team was defeated by the New Orleans Saints in Super Bowl XLIV on February 7, 2010 at Sun Life Stadium in Miami Gardens, Florida.  (Photo by Donald Miralle/Getty Images)
Donald Miralle/Getty Images

2010 World Cup betting players will be waiting to see who wins the Golden Ball, which is given to the best player at the tournament.  NFL betting players can start looking at the candidates for this year’s MVP award, and the rest of the league will be out to stop Peyton Manning’s quest to join Brett Favre as the only players to win three straight MVP awards.

Peyton Manning, Indianapolis

Manning won his second MVP in a row and fourth overall, which gives him the most in NFL history. He was second in the league in passing yards and touchdowns en route to a Super Bowl appearance.  Manning should have another spectacular season with the Colts, especially as receiver Anthony Gonzalez is healthy after a knee injury to give him another target, and seriously, betting on Manning to win the MVP award is like placing a bet on Lakers odds in the NBA: you have an excellent chance of being right.

Drew Brees, New Orleans

Brees won the Super Bowl MVP while leading the Saints to the title over Manning’s Colts, and he led the league in passer rating and touchdowns.  It’s also strange that Manning won in such a landslide when Brees had a phenomenal season, but the NFC Offensive Player of the Year will gladly take the Super Bowl win.  Brees still has a healthy group of targets for next year, and unless the rest of the NFL has caught up to the high-flying “Who Dat” nation, Brees will be in the MVP running again.


Tom Brady, New England

Everyone expected Brady to jump back into his record-setting ways of 2007, but even after a year off, he was fifth in yards, sixth in touchdowns and ninth in rating.  Brady wore down later in the season, which is normal for someone who didn’t play the entire year prior. With all the talk coming from the Jets firing up the Patriots, Brady and his team could be on a mission similar to the 2007 season. 


Chris Johnson, Tennessee

Last year’s NFL Offensive Player of the Year, Johnson led the league in rushing yards by almost 600.  NFL betting players are also aware that Johnson’s unhappy with his contract, but he’s still going to play, and more yards usually equals more money.  With Vince Young as the quarterback, you know Tennessee isn’t going to air it out a whole lot, so look for Johnson to get more than his share of touches.


Brett Favre, Minnesota

We’re surprised the Favre love fest didn’t include the MVP award, but granted, Mr. “Just Havin’ Fun Out There” had a great season in his comeback, coming in ninth in yards, tied with Manning for second in touchdowns, and he was second in rating as well.  Favre had surgery on his ankle, which is a sign he’ll be back for another season, and like Brees, unless the NFL has figured out the Minnesota offense, many players will place a sports bet on Favre. 


The latest in the sports world, emailed daily.