2020 Madrid Open Canceled Because of Coronavirus Pandemic

Scott Polacek@@ScottPolacekFeatured ColumnistAugust 4, 2020

Karolina Pliskova, left, from Czech Republic returns a ball from Czech Republic's Petra Kvitova during a Madrid Open tennis tournament semifinal match in Madrid, Spain, Friday, May 11, 2018. Kvitova won 7-6, 6-3. (AP Photo/Francisco Seco)
Francisco Seco/Associated Press

There will be no Madrid Open in 2020.

The WTA and ATP released a joint statement explaining the decision to cancel this year's tournament was "taken in line with local authorities due to health and safety concerns" amid the COVID-19 pandemic.

WTA Insider @WTA_insider

Joint WTA/ATP statement on the cancellation of Madrid. https://t.co/sKcZPde04k

The announcement recognized the efforts of organizers who were behind attempts to hold the tournament and said, "Both tours are assessing updates to the 2020 provisional calendars in regards to events following the U.S. Open, and an update will be published in due course."

An announcement from the ATP explained the tournament was rescheduled to September from its original May dates but became all the more difficult to hold after the Community of Madrid announced social gatherings must include 10 or fewer people in public and private.

According to the Associated Press (h/t ESPN), recent spikes in positive cases in Spain led to the new regulations and impacted this decision.

The Madrid Open would have opened the European clay season following the U.S. Open, which is still scheduled to happen after August's Western & Southern Open. The Western & Southern Open was moved from Ohio to New York as a tune-up for the Grand Slam.

However, Rafael Nadal announced Tuesday that he will not participate in the U.S. Open and called the reduced schedule for this year "barbaric."

Ashleigh Barty already said she would not participate on the women's side, and Roger Federer announced in June he will not return until 2021 because of a knee injury.

As for the Madrid Open, Kiki Bertens and Novak Djokovic won the tournament last year.