NFL Franchise Tag 2020: Full List of Players

Tyler Conway@jtylerconwayFeatured Columnist

Dallas Cowboys quarterback Dak Prescott (4) celebrates a touchdown against the Washington Redskins during the second half of an NFL football game in Arlington, Texas, Sunday, Dec. 15, 2019. (AP Photo/Ron Jenkins)
Ron Jenkins/Associated Press

The 2020 NFL franchise-tag window will open Thursday, with teams having until 4 p.m. ET March 16 to decide whether to utilize the distinction.

A number of high-profile names could see the tag in coming days, some seemingly resigned to the inevitable. The Dallas Cowboys are a borderline lock to franchise Dak Prescott, barring a long-term agreement, and the Cincinnati Bengals will likely extend AJ Green's stay with the franchise for another season.

Notables like Kansas City Chiefs defensive lineman Chris Jones, Jacksonville Jaguars defensive end Yannick Ngakoue and Baltimore Ravens outside linebacker Matthew Judon have already been franchised. 

Because the players approved a new collective bargaining agreement, teams will have only one of the transition or franchise tags available. Had the new CBA not gone through, teams would have been able to use both tags. 

Here is a running list of players who are franchise-tagged, which will be updated as the tagging period progresses:


Franchise Tags

Arizona Cardinals: RB Kenyan Drake (transition tag) (announced by team)

Atlanta Falcons:

Baltimore Ravens: LB Matthew Judon (announced by team)

Buffalo Bills:

Carolina Panthers:

Chicago Bears:

Cincinnati Bengals: WR AJ Green (announced by team)

Cleveland Browns

Dallas Cowboys: QB Dak Prescott (announced by team)

Denver Broncos: S Justin Simmons (announced by team)

Detroit Lions:

Green Bay Packers:

Houston Texans:

Indianapolis Colts:

Jacksonville Jaguars: DE Yannick Ngakoue (via NFL Network's Ian Rapoport)

Kansas City Chiefs: DT Chris Jones (via NFL Network's Ian Rapoport)

Las Vegas Raiders:

Los Angeles Chargers: TE Hunter Henry (via NFL Network's Ian Rapoport)

Los Angeles Rams:

Miami Dolphins:

Minnesota Vikings: S Anthony Harris (via NFL Network's Ian Rapoport)

New England Patriots: G Joe Thuney (via NFL Network's Ian Rapoport)

New Orleans Saints:

New York Giants: DE Leonard Williams (via ESPN's Adam Schefter)

New York Jets:

Philadelphia Eagles:

Pittsburgh Steelers: LB Bud Dupree (announced by team)

San Francisco 49ers:

Seattle Seahawks:

Tampa Bay Buccaneers: LB Shaq Barrett (via ESPN's Adam Schefter)

Tennessee Titans: RB Derrick Henry (announced by team)

Washington Redskins: OG Brandon Scherff (via NFL Network's Ian Rapoport)


Franchise Tag Figures

QB: $26.6 million-$27.2 million

RB: $10.2 million-$10.4 million

WR: $17.7 million-$18.1 million

TE: $10.5 million-$10.8 million

OL: $14.7 million-$15.0 million

DE: $17.7 million-$18.1 million

DT: $16.0 million-$16.4 million

LB: $15.7 million-$16.1 million

CB: $16.2 million-$16.6 million

S: $11.4 million-$11.6 million

K/P: $5.1 million-$5.2 million

via CBS Sports