Preakness Results 2012: Winner, Top Finishers and Order

Carlos TorresContributor IMay 19, 2012

BALTIMORE, MD - MAY 19: I'll Have Another ridden by Mario Gutierrez (L) beats Bodemeister ridden by Mike E. Smith at the finish line to win the 137th running of the Preakness Stakes at Pimlico Race Course on May 19, 2012 in Baltimore, Maryland. (Photo by Patrick Smith/Getty Images)
Patrick Smith/Getty Images

The super horse is I'll Have Another as he once again caught Bodemeister on a grinding finish to win the 137th Preakness Stakes—and now tries to become the 12th Triple Crown in history.

Bodemeister got the trip he wanted, he went to the lead easily and led the pack as they took the first split in 23.79 seconds, followed closely by Pretension to his inside and Creative Cause to his outside just a length behind.

Mario Gutierrez settled I'll Have Another in fourth just outside of Went the Day Well, who was forwardly placed today in the early goings.

As they reached the backstretch, Bodemeister led the train with Creative Cause behind him and I'll Have Another on the outside on the clear biding his time.

Bodemeister ran the first half-mile in 47.46 seconds, two seconds slower than the pace he had set in the Derby. I'll Have Another was just right behind Creative Cause, in third at the time.

As they rounded the far turn, Bodemeister was still leading easily and Gutierrez took I'll Have Another to the inside saving ground all around the turn, but as they turned for home Gutierrez swung I'll Have Another to the outside and started to ask him for his best run.

As the stretch run progressed, Bodemeister was valiantly defending the lead and I'll Have Another was grinding, inching closer to the him in a superb duel as both drew away from the rest of the field with ease.

I'll Have Another caught Bodemeister in the last strides to win by a head in a thrilling finish, covering the 1 3/16 miles in 1:55.94. Bodemeister once again was gallant in defeat, but this time he had no excuse, he lost to the better horse.

Creative Cause was a distant third, and Zetterholm and Optimizer rounded out the top five. Went the Day Well—third betting choice—finished a distant and very disappointing 10th place.

Just like he did in the Derby, I'll Have Another ran down Bodemeister in the home stretch, but the difference is that today he was a head in front at the three-sixteens pole—which happened to be the wire today.

I'll Have Another keeps answering the call every time. He had won four races in a row before this one—including the Derby—and had never been favored in the odds. Maybe he'll get the respect in the odds and be favored in his next race.

As for Bodemeister he did ran another tremendous race. He had the easy lead up front and everything was going his way. But I'll Have Another is a horse with no quitting and didn't allow Bodemeister to become just the third horse in the past 50 years to finish second in the Derby and win the Preakness.

The last one to do this was Prairie Bayou in 1993. The jockey back then? Mike Smith.

But now all eyes in thoroughbred racing will turn to I'll Have Another and his next stop on his Triple Crown quest tour.

This next stop is New York for the Belmont Stakes, and the shot at racing's immortality when he tries to become the 12th Triple Crown winner in American thoroughbred racing history.

The best thing that could happen for horse racing is for I’ll Have Another to win at the Preakness. We will get to see a try at horse racing's Triple Crown. It has been 34 years since Affirmed won horse racing's ultimate trifecta: the Kentucky Derby, the Preakness and the Belmont Stakes.

Thirty-three horses have gone to the Belmont to try and win the Triple Crown. Only 11 have achieved it. I'll Have Another has the pedigree, running style and tactical speed to do it. Don't miss it.

137th Preakness Stakes | Grade I | Purse: $1 Million | Distance: 9.5 Furlongs | Track: Fast

Finish Horse Jockey Post
 1 I'll Have Another  M. Gutierrez  9
 2 Bodemeister  M. Smith  7
 3 Creative Cause
 J. Rosario  6
 4 Zetterholm  J. Alvarado  4
 5 Teeth of the Dog  J. Bravo  2
 6 Optimizer  C. Nakatani  10 
 7 Cozzetti  J. Lezcano   11
 8 Tiger Walk  R. Dominguez  1
 9 Daddy Nose Best  J. Leparoux  8
 10 Went the Day Well  J. Velazquez  5
 11 Pretension  J. Santiago  3

Winning Owner: Reddam Racing LLC

Winning Trainer: Doug F. O'Neill

Fractions: :23.79, :47.68, 1:11.72, 1:38.69

Final Time: 1:55.94


The latest in the sports world, emailed daily.