Golden III: The History of the WWE Divas Championship

Charlie GSenior Writer IMarch 6, 2011

Golden III: The History of the WWE Divas Championship

0 of 13

    Welcome to the third installment of the Golden Series!

    This edition will make it three down, nine to go. This edition of Golden will focus on the WWE Divas Championship.  

    The Divas Championship has replaced the WWE Women's Championship, as the Women's Championship is now defunct.

    Overall, there has been 12 reigns shared between eight divas.

    Next edition will give the history of the TNA Legends/Global/TV Championship.

    Missed previous editions of Golden? Check them out below:

    Let's get started!

1. Michelle McCool

1 of 13

    Michelle McCool defeated Natalya on July 20, 2008, at The Great American Bash to become the first-ever WWE Divas Champion.

    She would go on to hold the belt for 155 days.

2.) Maryse

2 of 13

    On the Dec. 22, 2008, episode of SmackDown, Maryse defeated McCool to become the new champion.

    The belt moved to RAW, with Maryse, during the April 13, 2009, draft. Both have stayed ever since.

    Maryse would set a WWE record as longest-reigning Divas Champion. Her reign lasted 216 days.

3.) Mickie James

3 of 13

    Mickie James defeated Maryse at the 2009 Night of Champions pay-per-view. Mickie won the belt on July 26 and held it until Oct. 12.

    Her reign lasted 78 days. 

4.) Jillian Hall

4 of 13

    On an episode of RAW, Jillian beat Mickie to become the new Divas Champion. 

    Her title run would set a WWE record as the shortest reigning Divas Champion. She lost the title minutes after she won it.

5.) Melina

5 of 13

    Immediately after Jillian won the title, it was announced that she would defend it against Melina, who had just been acquired in a trade with SmackDown.

    Melina would win her first Divas Championship on Oct. 12. 

    Her championship run would be stopped short due to injury. She held the title for 84 days before WWE had to vacate it.

6.) Maryse

6 of 13

    Maryse defeated Gail Kim in the finals of an eight-diva tournament to become WWE's first-ever two-time Divas Champion.

    She won it live on the Feb. 22 edition of RAW.

    Her second reign wouldn't come close to being as good as her first. She held the title for 49 days.

7.) Eve Torres

7 of 13

    Maryse would drop the title on April 12, 2010, in London, England.

    Eve would receive her first title reign for 69 days.

8.) Alicia Fox

8 of 13

    June 20, 2010. Fatal 4-Way.

    Champion, Eve vs. Gail Kim vs. Alicia Fox vs. Maryse.

    Alicia won her first and only Divas Championship. 

    She held the belt for almost the entire summer. She had the title for 56 days.

9.) Melina

9 of 13

    Melina became a two-time Divas Champion on Aug. 15 at SummerSlam.

    Similar to Maryse, Melina's second reign wasn't so great. It lasted 35 days.

10.) Michelle McCool

10 of 13

    Michelle McCool won both the WWE Women's title and the Divas title on Sept. 19, 2010, at Night of Champions.

    McCool beat Melina to become the unified Women's Champion. 

    Lay-Cool claimed to be "co-champions," though Layla was never recognized by WWE as a champion.

    Lay-Cool would hold the belts for 63 days.

11.) Natalya

11 of 13

    Natalya defeated Lay-Cool in a handicap match to win the Divas Championship at Survivor Series.

    Natalya lost her title at Royal Rumble 2011 after a 70-day title reign. 

12.) Eve Torres

12 of 13

    At Royal Rumble, WWE announced a fatal 4-way for the Divas Championship.

    Defending champion Natalya vs. Michelle McCool vs. Layla vs. A Mystery Opponent

    The mystery opponent was revealed to be Eve. Most of the WWE "Universe" felt let down. When does Awesome Kong debut?!

    Eve is the current Divas Champion and has a reign of 31 days and counting.


13 of 13

    Longest Championship reign: Maryse, 216 days

    Shortest Championship reign: Jillian, less than 24 hours

    Most reigns: Tie. Maryse (two), Melina (two), Michelle McCool (two) and Eve (two)

    The inaugural champion was Michelle McCool.

    List of Combined Reigns:

    Maryse had two reigns for a combined 265 days.

    Michelle McCool had two reigns for a combined 218 days.

    Melina had two reigns for a combined 119 days.

    Eve had two reigns for a combined 100 days and still counting.

    Mickie James had one reign for 78 days.

    Natalya had one reign for 70 days.

    Alicia Fox had one reign for 56 days.

    Jillian had one reign for less than 24 hours.