NASCAR: Jimmie Johnson on The Pole For Sunday's AAA 400

Kyle Brandt@@KBrandtMRSContributor ISeptember 24, 2010

DOVER, DE - SEPTEMBER 24:  Jimmie Johnson, driver of the #48 Lowe's Chevrolet, poses in Victory Lane after qualifying pole position in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series AAA 400 at Dover International Speedway on September 24, 2010 in Dover, Delaware.  (Photo by Nick Laham/Getty Images)
Nick Laham/Getty Images

Qualifying for round two of the 2010 Chase for the Sprint Cup is in the books and Jimmie Johnson will lead the field to the green on Sunday afternoon for the AAA 400 at Dover International Speedway.

Johnson went out late in the qualifying session and laid down a lap of 23.116 with a speed of 155.736 mph to secure his sixth pole at Dover—a track that he has swept the season at twice.

AJ Allmendinger will start second on Sunday following an impressive lap and holding the pole for most of the session—riding a hot steak in RPM equipment.

Qualifying third was Mark Martin, although coming up short of the pole, it is a win to the driver who has had a rough season in comparison to last year where he almost won the championship.

The good vibes ended quickly when Martin's time was disallowed after NASCAR found an illegal shock on the car forcing Martin to start in the rear on Sunday.

Hometown hero Martin Truex Jr. laid down the fourth fastest lap of the afternoon and looks to get back in victory lane at Dover—the site of his only Sprint Cup Series victory.

Denny Hamlin qualified fifth and was the second-fastest chase driver in qualifying.

Video Play Button
Videos you might like

Dover has been a tough track for Hamlin, who before May, had a best finish of 22nd. Hamlin claims that Sunday will be his biggest challenge in the chase and with this excellent qualifying position, may leave Dover with his points lead still intact.

Friday afternoon was a rough outing for the championship contenders, with a majority of them starting in the back half of the field. Kevin Harvick was the worst qualifying chaser and will start 34th.

AAA 400 Lineup:

  1. Jimmie Johnson*
  2. AJ Allmendinger
  3. Martin Truex Jr.
  4. Denny Hamlin*
  5. Juan Pablo Montoya
  6. Greg Biffle*
  7. Jamie McMurray
  8. Kurt Busch*
  9. Paul Menard
  10. Carl Edwards*
  11. Kyle Busch*
  12. Reed Sorenson
  13. Ryan Newman
  14. Matt Kenseth*
  15. Jeff Gordon*
  16. Kasey Kahne
  17. David Reutimann
  18. Regan Smith
  19. Joey Logano
  20. Scott Speed
  21. Sam Hornish Jr.
  22. Elliott Sadler
  23. Marcos Ambrose
  24. Clint Bowyer*
  25. Tony Stewart*
  26. Casey Mears
  27. Jeff Burton*
  28. Joe Nemechek
  29. David Ragan
  30. Travis Kvapil
  31. Brad Keselowski
  32. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  33. Kevin Harvick*
  34. Bobby Labonte
  35. David Gilliland
  36. J.J. Yeley
  37. Dave Blaney
  38. Mike Bliss
  39. Landon Cassill
  40. Michael McDowell
  41. Jeff Green
  42. Josh Wise
  43. Mark Martin

    * denotes chase driver

For the latest NASCAR talk and information, you can find Kyle on Twitter: @TheKyleBrandt

slash iconYour sports. Delivered.

Enjoy our content? Join our newsletter to get the latest in sports news delivered straight to your inbox!