Yankees' George Steinbrenner, More Named to Today's Game Era Hall of Fame Ballot

Tyler Conway@jtylerconwayFeatured ColumnistNovember 5, 2018

FILE - In this Feb. 17, 2004, file photo, New York Yankees owner George Steinbrenner waves to fans in Tampa, Fla. Steinbrenner, former managers Lou Piniella, Davey Johnson and Charlie Manuel, and six players headed by Lee Smith are on the 10-man ballot for the baseball Hall of Fame's today's game era committee to consider Dec. 9, 2018. (AP Photo/Chris O'Meara, File)
CHRIS O'MEARA/Associated Press

The National Baseball Hall of Fame announced its 10 Today's Game Era candidates for 2019 induction Monday, highlighted by late New York Yankees owner George Steinbrenner.

"The Boss" is the only executive on this year's list, which will be discussed at the winter meetings Dec. 9. Former players Harold Baines, Albert Belle, Joe Carter, Will Clark, Orel Hershiser and Lee Smith are also on the ballot. Former managers Davey Johnson, Charlie Manuel and Lou Piniella are also eligible.

Steinbrenner is the only deceased candidate. He died in 2010 of a heart attack at age 80. The longtime Yankees owner purchased the team in 1973, winning seven World Series championships and 11 pennants.

One of the most controversial owners in team sports history, Steinbrenner clashed with MLB management, his own players and managers, and he was suspended twice for his off-field actions. He served a suspension for making illegal campaign contributions to Richard Nixon's re-election campaign in the 1970s and was permanently banned from management of the team in 1990 after paying a gambler to investigate Dave Winfield.

Steinbrenner was later reinstated in 1993.

Piniella served two stints under Steinbrenner as manager in the 1980s. He finished with a 1,835-1,713 record over a career with the Yankees, Cincinnati Reds, Seattle Mariners, Tampa Bay Rays and Chicago Cubs.

Carter and Hershiser are most famous for their postseason contributions. Carter famously hit a game-winning home run with the Toronto Blue Jays to capture the 1993 World Series, only the second such walk-off win in history. Hershiser won the 1988 World Series MVP, throwing two complete games for the Los Angeles Dodgers to defeat the Oakland Athletics.