MLB Gold Glove Finalists 2016: Full List of Nominees, Comments and Reaction

Scott Polacek@@ScottPolacekFeatured ColumnistOctober 27, 2016

CLEVELAND, OH - OCTOBER 25:  Addison Russell #27 of the Chicago Cubs warms up prior to Game One of the 2016 World Series against the Cleveland Indians at Progressive Field on October 25, 2016 in Cleveland, Ohio.  (Photo by Elsa/Getty Images)
Elsa/Getty Images

The Chicago Cubs and the Cleveland Indians are battling for baseball's ultimate team prize, the World Series, but Rawlings Sports announced the finalists for some of the most coveted individual awards of the 2016 season Thursday. 

Here is a look at the full list of Gold Glove finalists, per Rawlings Sports' Twitter page:

National League Gold Glove Finalists
PitcherJake Arrieta, Chicago CubsZack Greinke, Arizona DiamondbacksAdam Wainwright, St. Louis Cardinals
CatcherBuster Posey, San Francisco GiantsYadier Molina, St. Louis CardinalsJonathan Lucroy, Texas Rangers/Milwaukee Brewers
First BaseAnthony Rizzo, Chicago CubsPaul Goldschmidt, Arizona DiamondbacksWil Myers, San Diego Padres
Second BaseDJ LeMahieu, Colorado RockiesJoe Panik, San Francisco GiantsJean Segura, Arizona Diamondbacks
ShortstopFreddy Galvis, Philadelphia PhilliesAddison Russell, Chicago CubsBrandon Crawford, San Francisco Giants
Third BaseNolan Arenado, Colorado RockiesJustin Turner, Los Angeles DodgersAnthony Rendon, Washington Nationals
Left FieldChristian Yelich, Miami MarlinsAdam Duvall, Cincinnati RedsStarling Marte, Pittsburgh Pirates
Center FieldBilly Hamilton, Cincinnati RedsOdubel Herrera, Philadelphia PhilliesEnder Inciarte, Atlanta Braves
Right FieldNick Markakis, Atlanta BravesJason Heyward, Chicago CubsCarlos Gonzalez, Colorado Rockies
American League Gold Glove Finalists
PitcherJustin Verlander, Detroit TigersR.A. Dickey, Toronto Blue JaysDallas Keuchel, Houston Astros
CatcherCarlos Perez, Los Angeles AngelsSalvador Perez, Kansas City RoyalsJames McCann, Detroit Tigers
First BaseChris Davis, Baltimore OriolesEric Hosmer, Kansas City RoyalsMitch Moreland, Texas Rangers
Second BaseRobinson Cano, Seattle MarinersDustin Pedroia, Boston Red SoxIan Kinsler, Detroit Tigers
ShortstopJose Iglesias, Detroit TigersFrancisco Lindor, Cleveland IndiansAndrelton Simmons, Los Angeles Angels
Third BaseManny Machado, Baltimore OriolesKyle Seager, Seattle MarinersAdrian Beltre, Texas Rangers
Left FieldBrett Gardner, New York YankeesAlex Gordon, Kansas City RoyalsColby Rasmus, Houston Astros
Center FieldJackie Bradley Jr., Boston Red SoxKevin Pillar, Toronto Blue JaysKevin Kiermaier, Tampa Bay Rays
Right FieldAdam Eaton, Chicago White SoxMookie Betts, Boston Red SoxGeorge Springer, Houston Astros

Rawlings Sports noted the winners will be announced on Nov. 8 during ESPN's Baseball Tonight.

The list of finalists underscores just how important run prevention is to winning games. The Cubs are in the World Series for a number of reasons, but their league-best defense certainly helped them win an MLB-best 103 games this season.

They have four finalists in pitcher Jake Arrieta, first baseman Anthony Rizzo, shortstop Addison Russell and right fielder Jason Heyward, and the team led all of baseball with 82 total defensive runs saved above average, per FanGraphs.

What's more, it was a massive gap between Chicago and the rest of the league. The Houston Astros checked in at second place at an impressive 51 total defensive runs saved above average. Still, the difference between the Cubs and second-place Houston (31) was bigger than the one between second-place Houston and eighth-place Toronto Blue Jays (23).

Video Play Button
Videos you might like

Ninth-place Cleveland (17 total defensive runs saved above average) counts a Gold Glove finalist at a critical position with shortstop Francisco Lindor. Watching him flash the leather against his counterpart, Russell, in the World Series is a treat for defense-oriented baseball fans.  

Elsewhere, the Boston Red Sox have three finalists, with second baseman Dustin Pedroia and outfielders Jackie Bradley Jr. and Mookie Betts. They won the American League East behind the impressive group.  

The Astros had three finalists as well, with pitcher Dallas Keuchel and outfielders Colby Rasmus and George Springer.

slash iconYour sports. Delivered.

Enjoy our content? Join our newsletter to get the latest in sports news delivered straight to your inbox!