Blackhawks' Andrew Shaw's Header Goal in 2OT of Game 2 vs. Ducks Waved Off

Kyle Newport@@KyleNewportFeatured ColumnistMay 20, 2015

via Vine

Game 2 of the Western Conference Final between the Chicago Blackhawks and the Anaheim Ducks ultimately took three overtimes to be decided. But for a few moments in the second extra period, it looked like the game might be over.

At the 8:47 mark of double overtime, Blackhawks forward Andrew Shaw headbutted the puck out of the air and into the net.

The only problem is that hockey doesn't follow soccer's rules; headers aren't allowed. According to rule 78.5 (i) in the NHL rulebook (h/t Sports Illustrated's Ben Estes), goals will be disallowed "when the puck has been directed, batted or thrown into the net by an attacking player other than with a stick."

The potential game-ending goal was waved off, and play resumed.

Here's how the teams' Twitter accounts reacted to the disallowed goal:

The Blackhawks eventually pulled out a 3-2 victory in triple overtime to even the series.

[Vine, Twitter]

Related

    NHL Exploring Options for Play

    League and NHLPA are exploring where remaining games/playoffs could take place; North Dakota was mentioned (Sportsnet)

    NHL logo
    NHL

    NHL Exploring Options for Play

    Scott Polacek
    via Bleacher Report

    2020 NHL Mock Draft 📝

    Tap for projected first-round picks ➡️

    NHL logo
    NHL

    2020 NHL Mock Draft 📝

    Tim Daniels
    via Bleacher Report

    Best NHL Teams to Not Win the Cup

    NHL logo
    NHL

    Best NHL Teams to Not Win the Cup

    Sean Leahy
    via ProHockeyTalk | NBC Sports

    Projected Landing Spots for Top NHL Free Agents

    NHL logo
    NHL

    Projected Landing Spots for Top NHL Free Agents

    Jake Rill
    via Bleacher Report