Pro Bowl 2015: Unconferenced Roster Voting Results, Selections and Alternates

Tim Keeney@@t_keenContributor IDecember 24, 2014

Getty Images

Although the Pro Bowl itself often draws plenty of criticism, there's no question that being named a participant remains a great honor. 

With the voting process no longer based solely on which biased fanbase can press F5 on their computers faster—selections are weighed evenly between fan, coach and player voting—we are beginning to see more deserving players recognized. The system still isn't perfect, and there will always be a handful of snubs, but the talent among this year's roster speaks for itself. 

Here's a look:


2015 Pro Bowl Player Pool
QBTom Brady, NEAndrew Luck, IndPeyton Manning, Den
Tony Romo, DalBen Roethlisberger, PitAaron Rodgers, GB
RBLe'Veon Bell, PitJamaal Charles, KCArian Foster, Hou
Marshawn Lynch, SeaLeSean McCoy, PhiDeMarco Murray, Dal
FBJohn Kuhn, GBMarcel Reece, Oak
WRAntonio Brown, PitDez Bryant, DalA.J. Green, Cin
T.Y. Hilton, IndCalvin Johnson, DetJulio Jones, Atl
Jordy Nelson, GBDemaryius Thomas, Den
TEJimmy Graham, NORob Gronkowski, NEJulius Thomas, Den
Greg Olsen, Car
OTRyan Clady, DenTyron Smith, DalTrent Williams, Was
Joe Thomas, CleJoe Staley, SFJason Peters, Phi
CTravis Frederick, DalJason Kelce, PhiNick Mangold, NYJ
Maurkice Pouncey, Pit
OGJahri Evans, NOMike Iupati, SFKyle Long, Chi
Zack Martin, DalMarshal Yanda, BalJosh Sitton, GB
DECalais Campbell, AriMario Williams, BufJ.J. Watt, Hou
DeMarcus Ware, DenCameron Wake, MiaRobert Quinn, STL
DTMarcell Dareus, BufAaron Donald, STLGerald McCoy, TB
Kyle Williams, BufNdamukong Suh, DetDontari Poe, KC
OLBConnor Barwin, PhiElvis Dumervil, BalTamba Hali, KC
Justin Houston, KCClay Matthews, GBVon Miller, Den
ILBLuke Kuechly, CarC.J. Mosley, BalBobby Wagner, Sea
Lawrence Timmons, Pit
CBVontae Davis, IndBrent Grimes, MiaJoe Haden, Cle
Chris Harris, DenAqib Talib, DenRichard Sherman, Sea
Darrelle Revis, NEPatrick Peterson, Ari
SKam Chancellor, SeaTashaun Gipson, CleEric Weddle, SD
T.J. Ward, DenEarl Thomas, SeaGlover Quin, Det
KStephen Gostkoswki, NEAdam Vinatieri, Ind
PKevin Huber, CinPat McAfee, Ind
PRDevin Hester, AtlDarren Sproles, Phi
STJustin Bethel, AriMatthew Slater, NE


2015 Pro Bowl Alternates
ArizonaWR Larry FitzgeraldCB Antonio Cromartie
BaltimoreRB Justin ForsettOLB Terrell SuggsP Sam Koch
PR Jacoby JonesFB Kyle Juszczyk
DenverWR Emmanuel SandersRB C.J. Anderson
DetroitWR Golden TateLB DeAndre LevyQB Matthew Stafford
S James Ihedigbo
Green BayOT David BakhtiariOG T.J. LangRB Eddie Lacy
WR Randall CobbLB Julius PeppersCB Sam Shields
CB Tramon Williams
HoustonT Duane BrownWR DeAndre HopkinsC Chris Myers
IndianapolisS Mike AdamsILB D'Qwell Jackson
JacksonvilleDT Sen'Derrick Marks
New York GiantsWR Odell Beckham Jr.DE Jason Pierre-Paul
New York JetsOT D'Brickashaw FergusonRB Chris IvoryDE Sheldon Richardson
DT Muhammad Wilkerson
OaklandS Charles WoodsonOLB Khalil Mack
PhiladelphiaK Cody ParkeyOG Evan MathisS Chris Maragos
WR Jeremy MaclinDT Fletcher Cox
San DiegoTE Antonio GatesST Darrell StuckyQB Philip Rivers
San FranciscoS Antoine BetheaOG Alex BooneILB Chris Borland
RB Frank GoreDT Justin Smith
SeattleDE Michael BennettK Steven HauschkaOT Russell Okung
C Max UngerQB Russell Wilson
Tampa BayLB Lavonte David
WashingtonOLB Ryan KerriganRB Alfred Morris

Fantasy Draft

For decades, the quality of the Pro Bowl game has been undeniably lacking. With player interest dropping each year, games became embarrassingly non-competitive. I mean, look at this garbage:

The addition of a "fantasy draft" last year, however, seemed to spark a change. With no more NFC and AFC teams, with a couple of boisterous Hall of Famers serving as captains and with teammates suddenly pitted against teammates, the competitiveness rose significantly.

After three straight years of games featuring 90 or more combined points, Team Jerry Rice edged Team Deion Sanders last year in a drama-filled 22-21 contest. 

January 26, 2014; Honolulu, HI, USA; Team Sanders quarterback Cam Newton of the Carolina Panthers (1) celebrates after a touchdown in the second quarter during the 2014 Pro Bowl at Aloha Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Kirby Lee-USA TODAY Sports

This year, the captains will be Cris Carter and Michael Irvin, and both seem intent on continuing the high level of involvement and competitiveness. 

"Some of my favorite NFL memories were from my Pro Bowl trips," said Irvin back in July, via NFL.com's Kevin Patra. "I'm already thinking about how to build my team."

Added Carter: "Last year, players really seemed to be excited about the new rules and the Pro Bowl Draft format. I'm excited to be a part of it this year."

The next step in this process—you know, after the endless debates over snubs, undeserving players and why the NFL hates everyone—will be the draft on January 20 and 21. 

The pool of available players will look much different by then, as the exclusion of conference championship participants and injured players will open up opportunities for those who narrowly missed out on a selection on Tuesday.  

No matter what the final rosters look like, though, the improved format and influx of talent should produce another entertaining showcase. 


The latest in the sports world, emailed daily.