Firestone 550 2013: Start Time, Lineup, TV Schedule and More

Richard Langford@@noontide34Correspondent IJune 7, 2013

FORT WORTH, TX - JUNE 09:  Justin Wilson of England, driver of the #18 Sonny's BBQ Honda Dallara, celebrates in Victory Lane after winning the IZOD IndyCar Series Firestone 550 at Texas Motor Speedway on June 9, 2012 in Fort Worth, Texas.  (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)
Chris Graythen/Getty Images

In the heart of the IZOD IndyCar Series schedule, the drivers head to Fort Worth, Texas, for the Firestone 550 as this unpredictable season rolls along. 

Consider that we are seven races into this season and both the mighty Ganassi and Penske racing teams are still looking for their first victory. It's clear that things are not going as many anticipated. Also, powerhouse drivers Dario Franchitti and Will Power have yet to even crack the top three in any race.  

This has all created for a fun racing year, and this race should only continue that trend. 

Justin Wilson is the defending champion. He and his Dale Coyne Racing team had a breakthrough victory here last year. He will be back to try and defend his crown and will do so against a talented field.

That field includes Helio Castroneves, who has won this event three times, and series points co-leader Marco Andretti.   

Check out the race info, and then I'll take a look at three drivers to keep an eye on for this exciting race. 

Race Information

Watch: ABC

When: Saturday, June 8 at 8:30 p.m. ET

Where: Texas Motor Speedway, Fort Worth, Texas

James Hinchcliffe 

James Hinchcliffe doesn't have a strong history at this event. He's never won here, and while he was fourth last year, he didn't crack the top 10 the year previous.

Still, it is not his history at this event that makes him worth watching, but his history this season. Hinchcliffe already has two wins on the season, and that makes him the only multiple winner for the year.

Both of his wins did come on street courses, however, and he's just ninth in the points standings this year. If he wants to make a run at winning the championship, he needs to post some solid results on oval tracks.

Marco Andretti 

Marco Andretti has also never won this event, and he hasn't won a race yet this year. Still, it is only a matter of time before he captures his first checkered flag.

Andretti is the current co-points leader. He's had only one finish all year outside the top 10, and he excels on oval-track racing.

He was also the fastest at the first practice session for this race.

Helio Castroneves 

As I mentioned above, Castroneves is supremely comfortable at this track. He's won here three times. And while Castroneves is looking for his first win of the year, he's tied with Andretti for the points lead.  

Castroneves has finished in the top 10 in each of his past three starts, as he and his Penske team are really starting to dial in. 

He was not impressive in the first practice session, but I expect him to be ready come race day and be in contention to pick up his, and his team's, first win of the year. 


The latest in the sports world, emailed daily.