Heisman Trophy: Top 5 Heisman Schools and Factories

Sean MerrimanCorrespondent IDecember 11, 2011

Heisman Trophy: Top 5 Heisman Schools and Factories

0 of 5

    When it comes to college football in this day and age, one can't help to think of the SEC conference's dominance as of late.

    Florida, Auburn and Alabama. All three schools have won national championships in the past decade, but have they necessarily produced the best players?

    Do the top schools necessarily produce the most Heisman winners in college football?

    Let's take a look at the top five schools for producing Heisman Trophy winners.

5. Florida

1 of 5

    Florida Gators

    Number of Heisman Winners: 3

    Who They Are: QB Tim Tebow (2007), QB Danny Wuerffel (1996), QB Steve Spurrier (1966)

    There are five different schools that have produced three Heisman Trophy winners, but none of those five have a list as impressive as Florida's.

    Tim Tebow is considered by many to be the most accomplished quarterback in college football history; he is the first sophomore to ever win the award.

    Danny Wuerffel was an exceptional college quarterback who was a true joy to watch during his days in a Gators uniform.

    Steve Spurrier had a memorable career and Heisman season at Florida, passing for more than 4,000 yards. He went on to coach the Gators for 12 years after his playing days, leading his team to a 122-27-1 record.

    Three great quarterbacks. One great college football program.

    Florida fits perfect right here.

4. Oklahoma

2 of 5

    Oklahoma Sooners

    Number of Heisman Winners: 5

    Who They Are: QB Sam Bradford (2008), QB Jason White (2003), RB Billy Sims (1978), FB Steve Owens (1969), RB Bill Vessels (1952)

    Oklahoma has always been known as one of the top college football programs in the nation, and it would only be fitting for the Sooners to appear on this list with five previous Heisman Trophy winners.

    Jason White and Sam Bradford each enjoyed memorable seasons at the quarterback position while Sims, Owens and Vessels are three of the best running backs college football has ever seen during a 30-year span between 1950-1980.

3. USC

3 of 5

    USC Trojans

    Number of Heisman Winners: 6

    Who They Are: QB Matt Leinart (2004), QB Carson Palmer (2002), RB Marcus Allen (1981), RB Charles White (1979), RB OJ Simpson (1968), RB Mike Garrett (1965)

    Keep in mind that there was a seventh winner on this list, but former USC running back Reggie Bush was stripped of his 2005 Heisman Trophy due to NCAA violations.

    Nonetheless, a very impressive list for USC, which includes two outstanding quarterbacks currently in the NFL and four accomplished running backs.

    USC is known for producing Heisman winners and if Matt Barkley chooses to come back for his senior season, perhaps they will add another player to this accomplished list.

2. Notre Dame

4 of 5

    Notre Dame Fighting Irish

    Number of Heisman Winners: 7

    Who They Are: WR Tim Brown (1987), QB John Huarte (1964), QB Paul Hornung (1956), RB John Lattner (1953), E Leon Hart (1949), QB John Lujack (1947), QB Angelo Bertelli (1943)

    This is the definition of kicking it old school. While Notre Dame has not had a winner in over 20 years, this list just goes to show the rich tradition that the Fighting Irish program has had.

    To have six winners in a 20-year span is special, and Notre Dame was the definition of special in those years. 

1. Ohio State

5 of 5

    Ohio State Buckeyes

    Number of Winners: 6 (7 trophies held)

    Who They Are: QB Troy Smith (2006), RB Eddie George (1995), RB Archie Griffin (1974, 1975), RB Howard Cassady (1955), RB Vic Janowicz (1950), QB Les Horvath (1944)

    When it comes to Heisman Trophy winners, Ohio State University certainly sets the standard.

    From 1944 through 2006, a 60-plus year span, Ohio State has had six winners, but seven trophies won with the great Archie Griffin winning the prestigious award back-to-back in 1974 and '75. He is the only two-time winner of the Heisman.

    Of the seven times this award has been awarded to an Ohio State Buckeye, four have been running backs. George, Cassady, Griffin and Janowicz are certainly four of the best to ever play the game.

    With the current success that Ohio State has enjoyed over the past decade, it is anyone's guess as to how many more winners the Buckeyes could have in the near future.