Does The Heisman Trophy Really Go to The Best Player?

Mark Eckhart Jr.Correspondent INovember 2, 2008

As a big college football fan over the years I always seem to ask myself the same question at the end of the season recently. How did he win the Heisman? My understanding was that it's the greatest individual award in all of college football, and it's supposed to go to the BEST player, but it seems to go to a player on the best team now. Anybody see anything wrong with that?

Take for example the last two winners Tim Tebow and Troy Smith.

In 2006, Troy Smith was the winner of the Heisman by beating out Notre Dame QB Brady Quinn, but quite frankly he didn't deserve it. Troy Smith threw for 30TD's, six INT's, 2,542 yards, and had a completion percentage of 65.3. However, Brady Quinn was better in every sense, except completion percentage, and having one more INT. Quinn threw for 37 TD's, seven INT's, 3,426 yards, and his completion percentage was 61.9.

When you look at how the teams performed in the regular season Smith took the Buckeyes to an undefeated record and a Big Ten Championship. Quinn led the Irish to a very respectable 10-2 record.

Both teams played Michigan that season, but other than the Wolverines, the Buckeyes didn't really play anybody since they never scheduled any challenging non conference games that season. Notre Dame played Big Ten schools, other big games, most notably an end of the season meeting with the USC Trojans.

If you're going to give anyone the Heisman based on the schedule they played and the record their team had, it should have been Quinn. Plus the fact that he threw for 1,000 more yards than Smith did should have been the sealer.

Video Play Button
Videos you might like

Smith didn't win this award because he was the best player in the country. He wasn't even the best player at his position in 2006, because that title went to Brady Quinn, and it's a shame that he had a Heisman Trophy taken away from him by a guy who clearly underperformed compared to him.

Now on to the defending Heisman champion Tim Tebow.

This one wasn't as tough of a decision because Tebow did have a fantastic year. If you look just at the Passing numbers, Colt Brennan was better all around. Tebow threw for 32 TD's, six INT's, 3,286 yards, and had a completion percentage of 66.9. Brennan, like Quinn out threw his Heisman opponent in virtually every category, except the TO's were more common. Brennan threw for 38 TD's, a mind boggling 17 INT's, 4,343 yards, and had a completion percentage of 70.4.

Tebow also ran for 23 TD's and 895 yards which inevitably put him over the top. This Heisman was more deserving than Smith's in 2006, but this still brought up more of a debate across the country than it should have. The Heisman winner is supposed to be the clear cut standout player in all of college football, but recently we can't agree on who deserved, and who actually got it.

We're on our way to yet another Heisman controversy this season just because Texas lost last night. McCoy has nothing to do with a defense that let up 39 points, and he didn't have anything to do with his receivers dropping pass after pass that was right on the numbers.

Even though Texas lost, it doesn't diminish that McCoy still has the best numbers of any QB in college right now, but unfortunately the Heisman voters will yet again give it to a player that isn't deserving.

And that's the sad part.

slash iconYour sports. Delivered.

Enjoy our content? Join our newsletter to get the latest in sports news delivered straight to your inbox!