X

Los Angeles Galaxy vs. Philadelphia Union: Taking on the Upstarts

Jo-Ryan SalazarSenior Analyst IMarch 29, 2011

CHESTER, PA - OCTOBER 07: Kyle Nakazawa #13 of the Philadelphia Union fights for control of the ball with Todd Dunivant #2 of the Los Angeles Galaxy at PPL Park on October 7, 2010  in Chester, Pennsylvania. The Galaxy won 1-0. (Photo by Drew Hallowell/Getty Images)
Drew Hallowell/Getty Images

Bruce Arena's Los Angeles Galaxy slink back to the Home Depot Center in search of the antidote to cure them of their ills suffered from a 4-1 defeat to Real Salt Lake.

Who may have the antidote? It could be Peter Nowak's Philadelphia Union, who the Galaxy take on this Saturday.

The Union are currently 2-0 to begin the year and are coming off a 1-0 victory over the Vancouver Whitecaps. This is a much improved Union outfit from last year, especially with additions like goalkeeper Faryd Mondragon and former Galaxy striker Carlos Ruiz.

“We came out poorly, there’s no question about that," Arena told RealSaltLake.com. "We turned the ball over and made some bad plays and they capitalized. The second goal off the penalty kick I think was a terrible call by the referee, but it didn’t certainly didn’t cost us the game. We were completely outplayed in the first half and we were punished properly.”

“It wasn’t a good game overall," said Juan Pablo Angel on last Saturday's dismal effort against RSL. "We didn’t start off the game well and we got punished by it. We made mistakes and they capitalized on our mistakes. We’ve got to make sure we start off games better than that.”

Last season, the Galaxy defeated Philadelphia at home on May 1 by the count of 3-1 and also won 1-0 at PPL Park on October 7.


Prediction:

There will be no antidote waiting for these ailing G's on Saturday.

Los Angeles will have a rough go at it this week. After a tough loss to Real Salt Lake which saw little production to show for it, the Galaxy will lose this one, but it won't be as severe.
Philadelphia Union 2, Los Angeles Galaxy 0
Kickoff is scheduled for Apr. 2 at 7:30 p.m. PT/10:30 p.m. ET and will be televised locally by Fox Sports West.


INS & OUTS

Youth Academy Update

After a long layoff, the Los Angeles Galaxy Youth Academy were back in action over the weekend against Pateadores at Orange Coast College in Costa Mesa, California.

The Under-18s shut out Pateadores 2-0 while the Under-16s ran away with a 5-1 victory.

The following day, the Galaxy were not as fortunate as they traveled to Concordia University in Irvine, CA to take on the Irvine Strikers. Both the Under-18s and Under-16s fell by identical 2-1 scorelines.

The need for consistency will be a key talking point as they hit the road to San Diego for a couple of contests.

On Saturday, Apr. 2, the Youth Academy clash with the San Diego Surf at the San Diego Polo Club grounds. The Under-18s play at 11:00 a.m. PT/2:00 p.m. ET, while the Under-16s play at 1:30 p.m. PT/4:30 p.m. ET.

On Sunday, Apr. 3, the Galaxy will take on Nomads SC at Kinsell Field. Kickoff for the Under-18s is scheduled for 1:00 p.m. PT/4:00 p.m. ET while the Under-16s clash at 3:30 p.m. PT/6:30 p.m. ET.

🚨 SPORTS NEWS ➡️ YOUR INBOX

The latest in the sports world, emailed daily.