Aaron Rodgers Earns 2010 FedEx Air Player of the Year

MJ Kasprzak@BayAreaCheezhedSenior Writer IIFebruary 2, 2011

Aaron Rodgers' incredible season earned him FedEx air player of the year
Aaron Rodgers' incredible season earned him FedEx air player of the yearTom Pennington/Getty Images

Tom Brady won AP Offensive Player of the Year, edging out Michael Vick. Brady is expected to win the league's MVP and was a finalist for FedEx Air Player of the Year, along with Philip Rivers.

But he lost that award to Aaron Rodgers, who inexplicably, inexcusably was not even selected to the Pro Bowl.

Rodgers had four consecutive games with over a 100 passer rating, becoming the only quarterback since 1970 to do that in back-to-back seasons.

He finished in the top quarter of the league is virtually every category, with 3,922 passing yards (seventh), 28 touchdowns (tied for sixth), a 65.7 completion percentage (sixth), 40 25-yard passes (second) and a 101.2 passer rating (third).

Rodgers is second in NFL history for the passing yards by a quarterback in his first three years starting with 12.394. (Information courtesy of packers.com)

He owns the best career passer rating (regular and postseason combined) as a starter in NFL history.

His success is why Rodgers was the subject of a considerable amount of my half-hour interview (available on Podcast), conducted by Sports Haze's content manager for the United States page, T.J. McAloon.

Video Play Button
Videos you might like

The Green Bay Packers and New Orleans Saints are the only teams in the league to win this award in the last five seasons. Brett Favre won in 2007 and Drew Brees won it the other three years.

Ahman Green was the first winner of the FedEx Ground Player of the Year in 2003, won by Jamaal Charles of the Kansas City Chiefs this season. No other Packers have won this award and besides Brees, Peyton Manning is the only repeat winner of either award (2003, 2004).

Meanwhile, Clay Matthews lost out to Troy Polamalu for defensive player of the year by a mere two votes; one really could not go wrong voting for either player.

Matthews finished with 13.5 sacks, an interception returned for a touchdown and two fumbles forced in 15 games. The Packers lost at home to a team with a losing record in the one game he missed and lost on the road to a team with a losing record in a game they had been winning when he left in the second half.

Polamalu had one sack, seven interceptions (one returned for a touchdown) and one fumble forced in 14 games. The Steelers were 1-1 in the two games he missed.

Charles Woodson of the Packers won the award in 2009.

slash iconYour sports. Delivered.

Enjoy our content? Join our newsletter to get the latest in sports news delivered straight to your inbox!