Iker Casillas Named the Best Goalkeeper of 2010 by IFFHS

Roberto Alvarez-Galloso@AlvarezGallosoChief Writer IJanuary 4, 2011

Iker Casillas
Iker CasillasAngel Martinez/Getty Images

The International Federation of Football History & Statistics (IFFHS) has named Iker Casillas of Real Madrid as the best goalkeeper for the year 2010.

He received the award for the third consecutive time for his efforts in football

Casillas not only helped Real Madrid but was also instrumental in Spain's victory in the 2010 FIFA World Cup.

The IFFHS tabulated the following results, which showed Casillas with 304 points over the nearest challenger Julio Cesar (Inter Milan) with 124 points.

Petr Cech (Chelsea) received 56 points, followed by Manuel Neuer (Schalke) with 53 points. Maarten Stekelenburg of Ajax received 48 points.

Victor Valdes (Barcelona) received 38 points, while Fernando Muslera (Lazio) received 37 points. Edwin van der Sar (Manchester United) received 32 points, while Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus) received 28 points.

Tim Howard (Everton) received 15 points, while Vincent Enyeama (Hapoel Tel Aviv) received 10 points.

Finally, Richard Kingston (Blackpool) received nine points.

The rest of the soccer personalities mentioned in the IFFHS award were Eduardo (Genoa), Hugo Lloris (Lyon), Igor Akinfeev (CSKA Moscow), Justo Villar (Valladolid), David de Gea (Atletico Madrid), Pepe Reina (Liverpool) and Mark Schwarzer (Fulham).

My best wishes to all who were mentioned, especially Iker Casillas, who deserves the award.


The latest in the sports world, emailed daily.