Creature Vs. Creature Writers Pool: Results After Irwin Tools Night Race

Kelly CrandallSenior Writer IAugust 22, 2010

BRISTOL, TN - AUGUST 21:  Kyle Busch, driver of the #18 Doublemint Toyota, celebrates in Victory Lane after winning the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series IRWIN Tools Night Race at Bristol Motor Speedway on August 21, 2010 in Bristol, Tennessee.  (Photo by Rusty Jarrett/Getty Images for NASCAR)
Rusty Jarrett/Getty Images

It was a dominating weekend on the part of Kyle Busch as he completed the triple: winning the Camping World Truck, Nationwide, and Sprint Cup Series events at the Bristol Motor Speedway.

The win was his third of the season giving him 10 more bonus points for when the Chase starts in two weeks as he tries to capture his first championship. Once thought of as the man that would win that championship, Busch's teammate Denny Hamlin has not been able to catch a break lately.

Saturday he suffered from suspension problems to end his night in the 34th position and keep him tied for bonus points with Johnson. However, Johnson could have very well went to victory lane for the sixth time this year had it not been for Juan Pablo Montoya.

On a restart Montoya told his crew that Johnson, "pisses me off," and then spun the No. 48 Lowe's Chevrolet on the backstretch. Johnson finished the night 35th place finish.

Busch's win paid off big time for our Creatures as many of them correctly picked the Doublemint Toyota to be Saturday's night's victor. As such, the win column now has a completely different look and will help change the standings dramatically when they are re-set after Richmond.

Here's how they'll line up when the Sprint Cup Series arrives in Atlanta in two weeks.

Video Play Button
Videos you might like

Kara Martin (3,327) Carl Edwards finished 12th (2)

Christopher Leone (3,324) Kyle Busch won (4)

Billy Fellin (3,290) Greg Biffle finished eighth (3)

Dustin Parks (3,228) Kyle Busch won (3)

James Broomhead (3,210) Kyle Busch won (3)

Sal Sigala Jr. (3,191) Kurt Busch finished ninth (2)

Rob Tiongson (3,125) Kyle Busch won (1)

Misan Akuya (3,098) Jamie McMurray finished third (1)

Kelly Crandall (2,930) Denny Hamlin finished 34th (2)

Patti Rodisch (2,635) NO PICK SENT (0)

Alan Wade (1,567) Kurt Busch finished ninth (1)

Kyle Brandt (927) Kyle Busch won (2)

Next Up

The Sprint Cup Series has an off weekend before 12 straight weekends of racing. They'll head to Atlanta for the 25th race of the 2010 season in early September. 

Creatures have your picks for the Emory Healthcare 500 by Thursday, September 2 at 7 p.m. ET. 

slash iconYour sports. Delivered.

Enjoy our content? Join our newsletter to get the latest in sports news delivered straight to your inbox!