Will Power Scores Iowa Pole

Dustin H.Correspondent IJune 20, 2010

IOWA CITY, IA - JUNE 19: Will Power of Australia driver of the #12 Verizon Team Penske Dallara Honda, poses with the Peak Peak Pole Award following qualifying for the IRL Indycar Series Iowa Corn Indy 250 on June 19, 2010 at the Iowa Speedway in Newton, Iowa.  (Photo by Chris Trotman/Getty Images)
Chris Trotman/Getty Images

Will Power scored the Peak Pole Award Saturday in qualifying for Sunday's Iowa Corn IndyCar 250 at Iowa Speedway. Power put the #12 Verizon Team Penske car on pole for Sunday's race with Scott Dixon in second. Dario Franchitti and Team Chip Ganassi Racing has been strong at Iowa winning last year with Dario and Dan Wheldon in 2008. The IZOD IndyCar Series Iowa Corn IndyCar 250 can be seen Sunday at 1:30pm ET on Versus.

IZOD IndyCar Series Iowa Corn IndyCar 250 Starting Grid Iowa Speedway.

  1. Will Power
  2. Scott Dixon
  3. Marco Andretti
  4. Helio Castroneves
  5. Dario Franchitti
  6. Alex Tagliani
  7. Takuma Sato
  8. Ryan Briscoe
  9. Danica Patrick
  10. Dan Wheldon

Dario Franchitti comes into Iowa as the series' points leader with a 3 point lead over  pole-sitter Will Power.


The latest in the sports world, emailed daily.