Once an Oakland Raider, Always a Raider: Who Is in the Hall of Fame?

Honor Warren Wells TheTorch@dbintayaelSenior Writer IIJune 8, 2010

CLEVELAND - DECEMBER 27:  Charlie Frye #3 of the Oakland Raiders looks for a receiver against the Cleveland Browns at Cleveland Browns Stadium on December 27, 2009 in Cleveland, Ohio.  (Photo by Matt Sullivan/Getty Images)
Matt Sullivan/Getty Images

Today's morning mail contained a reminder to renew my membership to the Insider's Club of the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio. I joined the club because I plan to make regular visits to the Hall of Fame to continue doing research on the Oakland Raiders and the NFL.

The reminder contained a colorful and informative brochure with pictures of the seven men who will be inducted in the 2010 ceremony. It was good to see Jerry Rice on the list since he was an Oakland Raider from 2001 to 2004. Most of all he played in Super Bowl XXXVII, and that brought honor to the franchise.

"19 Raiders have been selected for induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio, including owner Al Davis. WR Jerry Rice, who wore the Silver and Black from 2001-04 and played in Super Bowl XXXVII, is the latest. He will be inducted in August of 2010." This quote is found at link.

I plan to attend the historical event.

The history of the Pro Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Festival includes 47 years of teaming up with the Canton Regional Chamber of Commerce to host the celebration. It is the joint effort of community organizations, the HOF staff and "more than 4,200 extraordinary volunteers who work year-round in a true spirit of cooperation".

Video Play Button
Videos you might like

The brochure I received in my mail today says:

"When the Hall opened its doors in Canton, Ohio, on September 7, 1963, the museum consisted of 19,000 square feet. It currently features over 80,000 and the Oakland Raiders are highlighted in displays on the history of the franchise and in the displays of the many Oakland Raiders who have been honored by HOF."

The last time I visited the HOF I noticed that the display of Tim Brown stood prominent, yet Brown has not been enshrined. Somehow, I felt that the display was in place to promote his nomination in the near future. Could that be?

Jerry Rice will be honored this year, and many of us believe that once a player is an Oakland Raider, he is always an Oakland Raider. We celebrate his enshrinement, just as we certainly appreciate and celebrate the enshrinement of each and every one of those on the list below. 

Go Raiders! 

Raiders In the Pro Football Hall of Fame
Jim OttoC1960-19741980
George BlandaQB/K1967-19751981
Willie BrownCB1967-19781984
Gene UpshawG1967-19821987
Fred BiletnikoffWR1965-19781988
Art ShellT1968-19821989
Ted HendricksLB1975-19831990
Al DavisOwner1963-present1992
Mike HaynesCB1983-19891997
Eric DickersonRB19921999
Howie LongDE1981-19932000
Ronnie LottS1991-19922000
Dave CasperTE1974-1980, 19842002
Marcus AllenRB1982-19922003
James LoftonWR1987-19882003
Bob BrownOT1971-19732004
John MaddenHead Coach1969-19782006
Rod WoodsonS2002-20032009
Jerry RiceWR2001-20042010
slash iconYour sports. Delivered.

Enjoy our content? Join our newsletter to get the latest in sports news delivered straight to your inbox!