Who Should Win the 2010 NBA Rookie of the Year Award?

TheRookieWall.comCorrespondent IApril 21, 2010

ATLANTA - APRIL 17:  Brandon Jennings #3 of the Milwaukee Bucks goes to the basket against Joe Johnson #2 of the Atlanta Hawks in Game One of the Eastern Conference Quarterfinals during the 2010 NBA Playoffs on April 17, 2010 at Philips Arena in Atlanta, Georgia. The Hawks won 102-92. NOTE TO USER: User expressly acknowledges and agrees that, by downloading and/or using this Photograph, user is consenting to the terms and conditions of the Getty Images License Agreement. (Photo by Grant Halverson/Getty Images)
Grant Halverson/Getty Images

Well, there's three absolute studs in the running for the 2010 Rookie of the Year.  Is it the one who improved their team the most, Jennings?  Is it the one with the historic numbers, Evans?  Or is it the one who finished strongest, Curry?  Read on to read about Brandon Jennings.  For the full argument visit The Rookie Wall.

Brandon Jennings?

Brandon Jennings should receive the Rookie of the Year award. As you probably know, Jennings was in opposition to the NBA rule requiring high school players to be a year removed from high school before they could enter their name in the draft.

As a result, he became the first major high school player to forgo college altogether and play professionally in Europe. Although Jennings’ year in Europe was short of memorable, it seems to have done a lot more good than his stats would lead one to believe.

After being selected 10th overall by the Bucks, Jennings came into camp and immediately was turning heads. At only 20 years old, he was very mature, determined, and motivated and it showed early on in his first season.

For the first month and a half of the season Jennings averaged over 20 points per game, and nearly six rebounds and assists on roughly 50 percent shooting, while leading the Bucks to nine of 16 wins.

Jennings started the season off extremely hot and cooled off at times throughout the season, but the Rookie of the Year award is just that, an award encompassing a rookie’s entire first year in the NBA.

Jennings started all 82 games this season and was the floor general for a playoff caliber team. Meanwhile, the Warriors and the Kings are headed back to the lottery. The Bucks managed to win 46 games, an increase of 12 wins from last season. They also are in the playoffs for the first time since the 2005-06 NBA season. Something clearly changed from last season to now and all signs point to the emergence of Jennings.

Their record could have been even better if not for the fact that the Bucks also had to deal with a number of injuries including Michael Redd, Andrew Bogut, and Luke Ridnour.

Additionally, the team shipped off Hakim Warrick and Joe Alexander in a trade for John Salmons. Although Alexander wasn’t providing much for the Bucks, Warrick certainly was. He contributed 10 points, and four rebounds a night as the spark coming off the bench.

With all of this uncertainty, the Bucks are back in the post season and Jennings doesn’t seem to be fazed by the pressures of such a big stage. While playoff performances aren’t included in the Rookie of the Year award decision, it is still important to note that Jennings had 34 points in his playoff debut with the Bucks. This further demonstrates that Jennings is a dynamic player who can do it all at the highest level of professional basketball.

For the discussions on Stephen Curry and Tyreke Evans check out The Rookie Wall.


The latest in the sports world, emailed daily.