Oswego Captures Back-To-Back Pathfinder Titles

Ryan Maloney@RyanEMaloneyContributor IIJanuary 5, 2010

DALLAS -OCTOBER 20:  The hockey rink at the American Airlines Center is shown during  play between the Chicago Blackhawks and the Dallas Stars October 20, 2006 in Dallas, Texas.  (Photo by Ronald Martinez/Getty Images)
Ronald Martinez/Getty Images

Senior Neil Musselwhite potted another short-handed goal—his fifth of the season—as Oswego State rolled to its third Pathfinder Bank Oswego Hockey Classic title in four years by defeating sixth-ranked Elmira 3-1. 

Oswego State junior Justin Fox became the first Laker skater to win the tournament's MVP award—goalies Ryan Scott and Tim Potter took the honors in 2006 and 2009. Fox had a goal and four assists for the tournament, though one of his credited assists actually appeared to be his goal last night. Instead, it was credited to Eric Selleck.

Defensemen Kevin Huinink was the only other Laker to make the all-tournament team.  He had two assists over the weekend, both coming in Saturday's win over Elmira, and was a plus-1 in both victories.

The top-ranked Lakers have now won a school record 14 games in a row. They return to action on Friday night when they host ninth-ranked Adrian in the first-ever meeting between the two programs.


Photo—Jared Crast/Facebook