Ryan Hunter-Reay Joins Andretti, Kaanan, and Patrick at Andretti Autosport

No NameAnalyst IJanuary 5, 2010

RICHMOND, VA - JUNE 27: Ryan Hunter-Reay,driver of the #17 Rahal Letterman Racing Team Ethanol Dallara Honda during practice for the IRL IndyCar Series SunTrust Indy Challenge on June 27, 2007 at the Richmond International Raceway in Richmond, Virginia.  (Photo by Darrell Ingham/Getty Images)
Darrell Ingham/Getty Images

Andretti Autosport has announced they have signed Phillips-Van Heusen and its IZOD brand to team with driver Ryan Hunter-Reay for the upcoming 2010 IZOD Indy Car Series season.

The announcement was made today that Hunter-Reay will drive the No. 37 car for Andretti Autosport (formerly AGR). It is not clear yet just how many races the driver will field, but it is obvious he will be in some races before and after the month of May, including the Indianapolis 500 on May 30.

Ryan moved to A.J. Foyt Racing in June of 2009 as a replacement for the injured Vitor Meira, posting a best finish of fourth at Mid-Ohio.

Hunter-Reay was the 2007 IZOD Indy Car Series Rookie of the Year award winner, despite joining the series in midseason. In 2003, he became the first American rookie in 20 years to win an Indy car race when he took the checkers at Surfers Paradise, in Australia.

It was very clear in his statements on Monday that he's excited to join the Andretti team. Adding some depth on the team is something the other drivers are excited about, too. With four strong contending drivers entering next season, there will be more opportunities for wins, as well as more good information to share.

The first race of the upcoming season is the Grand Prix of Brazil on Mar. 14.

Video Play Button
Videos you might like