Creature vs. Creature Writers Pool: Results And Champion After Ford 400

Kelly CrandallSenior Writer INovember 23, 2009

The 2009 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series season is in the record books, and history has been made.

Jimmie Johnson and his No. 48 Lowe's Chevrolet team for Hendrick Motorsports have won their fourth consecutive championship over teammate Mark Martin. Johnson finished fifth at Homestead-Miami on Sunday night to wrap up the title.

Our Creature championship has come to an end as well after its first season. Heading into 2010 with some new faces, as well as returning players, the season champion will be a marked man. 

After creating the game, Ben Bomberger has won the 2009 Creature title and bragging rights heading into next year's game. 

After starting off the season a little slowly, Bomberger kicked it up during the summer months. First he took the point lead and then he went to victory lane for the first time thanks to Tony Stewart in the July Daytona event. 

After that, he never looked back.

Win No. 2 came from Kyle Busch at Bristol in August and a month later, after the points were reset for the first race of the Chase, Bomberger went to victory lane at New Hampshire with Mark Martin for his third win.

Video Play Button
Videos you might like

Things keep going well for him as he stayed in the top two in points before winning at Martinsville with Denny Hamlin and began pulling away from the competition. 

Then the icing on the cake and the sealed championship came from Jimmie Johnson in Phoenix for his fifth win of the season.

Thanks to his pick of Carl Edwards and the seventh place finish in Homestead, Bomberger won the title.

Here's how the rest of the Creatures finish in the 2009 competition.

Ben Bomberger (6,572 ) Carl Edwards finished seventh (5 )

Kelly Crandall (-80 ) Kurt Busch finished fourth (2 )

Mary Jo Buchanan (-223 ) Dale Earnhardt Jr. finished 28th (2 )

Kara Martin (-233 ) Dale Earnhardt Jr. finished 28th (4 )

Rob Tiongson (-261 ) Martin Truex Jr. finished ninth (2 )

Jen Preston (-327 ) NO PICK SENT (2 )

James Broomhead (-404 ) Matt Kenseth finished 13th (3 )

SM Napier (-506 ) Kurt Busch finished fourth (3 )

Mason Dunn (-802 ) NO PICK SENT (0 )

Danielle Henderson (-976 ) NO PICK SENT (2 )

David Phillips (-1,017 ) NO PICK SENT (2 )

Adam Heasley (-1,542 ) NO PICK SENT (3 )

Anyone who would like to join the competition for 2010, please let me know.

And any current Creature who wants to participate should please let me know. If I don't hear from you, I will assumed you do not want to participate and will take you off the email list. 

Enjoy the offseason, everyone! 

slash iconYour sports. Delivered.

Enjoy our content? Join our newsletter to get the latest in sports news delivered straight to your inbox!