Toyota Wins The Manufacturer's Title In The Truck Series

Horn FanSenior Writer INovember 3, 2009

With Kyle Busch winning the Mountain Dew 250 at Talladega Superspeedway on Saturday, Toyota has clinched its fourth consecutive manufacturer's championship in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series.

Toyota has won it since 2006, they have also won a pair of driver titles with Todd Bodine in 2006, and Johnny Benson in 2008.

Counting the two manufacturer titles it won in the NASCAR Nationwide Series, they've won six manufacturer titles since joining the sport in 2004 in the Truck Series.

In the trucks, it was the performance of these seven full-time teams: Billy Ballew Motorsports, Germain Racing, HT Motorsports, Randy Moss Motorsports, Red Horse Racing, Wyler Racing, and Xpress Motorsports.

That contributed to Toyota with its Tundras winning the manufacturer's championship.

Three races do remain on the 2009 schedule, but so far they've combined for 13 wins, eight poles, 58 top fives and 118 top-10 finishes.

Kyle Busch has six wins.  Next is Mike Skinner with three wins, followed by Todd Bodine with two wins, then Brian Scott and Timothy Peters each earned first carer wins in 2009.

Video Play Button
Videos you might like

"The Camping World Truck Series is a great platform for Toyota to showcase its full-size Tundra pick-up truck and four straight manufacturer's championships in the series really enhances that exposure," said Ed Laukes, Toyota's Corporate Motorsports Marketing Manger.

"Our Tundra teams overcame many challenges in today's harsh economic environment to presevere and help us earn this title."

Love them or hate them, Toyota is the largest auto manufacturer in the US, and fans need to realize just where the sport would be without their involvement.

Photo Credit: