S.M.'s Camping World Update, Issue No. 56

Horn FanSenior Writer IOctober 29, 2009

Happy Halloween !!

Ah my pretties, be very scared to watch the Speed's the Set-Up Show for Saturday's the Mountain Dew 250 powered by Fred's as they are celebrating Hall-O-Dega. It could be a very frightening experience. (My picture this week will remind you how frightening)

I hear they will be topping the trauma they caused at Texas, when the Wizard of Oz Speed's version visited the Set-Up Show and they scared everyone on pit road.


Chrissy Wallace will be driving the No. 08 SS Green Light Racing Chevrolet at Talladega in conjunction with Rick Ware Racing.  

Austin Dillon will not only be making his first start at Talladega, but also RCR's first restrictor plate race in the Truck Series. It's his third start of the season. He'll be driving the No. 3 Realtree Outfitters Chevrolet. 

Chad McCumbee will be back driving the No. 07 SS Green Light Racing Chevrolet for the four remaining races this season.

Andy Lally will be back driving the No. 28 FDNY Racing Chevrolet at Talladega for Jim Rosenblum.

J.R. Fitzpatrick will be driving the No. 29 Brad Keselowski Racing Chevrolet at Talladega.

Circle Bar Racing will be in the spirit of Hall-O-Dega, as both Rick Crawford's No. 14 and James Buescher's No. 10 will be sporting black and orange paint scheme's.

Billy Ballew Motorsports  Update

First, Talladega will mark their 300th start in the Truck Series for the team.

Second, Rowdy Busch will be back driving the No. 51 Miccosukee Resorts/Graceway Pharmaceuticals Toyota and for the rest of the season.

Kevin Harvick Inc. Update

First, Ricky Carmichael will be back driving the No. 4 Monster Energy Drink Chevrolet at Talladega.

Second, Ron Hornaday, Jr. will have Copart on his No. 33 as sponsor at Talladega.

Sponsorship News

Mario Gosselin and his DGM Racing team will be debuting new sponsor MyTireMonkey.com on his No. 12 Chevrolet at Talladega.

Gosselin who started the team in 2008, has run part-time based on whether or not they had sponsorship. But with MyMonkeyTire.com it will give them a chance to run full-time in 2010, and the young team is excited to be racing every week.

Speed TV will have the No. 12 trucks unveiling live on Thursday, Oct. 29 at 3:00PM.

It's supposed to be not only a very colorful truck, but one that will capture fans' attention.

MyMonkeyTire.com launched in December 2008; it's an online tire purchasing facility based in Edenton, NC.  

But it has 1,500 dealer locations, with 90 distribution centers scattered across the lower 48 states, which still expanding operations and revolutionizing the way we can purchase tires today.

News & Notes


At Talladega for the Mountain Dew 250 powered by Fred's there are 38 entries on the preliminary entry list. It will be a full field of 36 trucks, and two teams will be going home.

The breakdown is 25 full-time teams and 13 part-time teams.

The Points Battle

Ron Hornaday Jr. appears, with his 224-point lead, to have wrapped up the 2009 drivers title.

He did take care of business at Martinsville but he'll have to survive the coming storm at Talladega and make it through the race unscathed.

Matt Crafton looks like he'll finish the season in second but Talladega could make it a more interesting points battle.

Skinner, while in third, is 102 points behind Crafton. While he has conceded the championship he could still challenge for the position.

He also could very well finish the season in third, since his nearest rival Todd Bodine sits some 234 points back in fourth.

Once you get to Bodine in fourth, it's anyone's game. Brian Scott in fifth is 10 points behind Bodine and he's only eight points ahead of Colin Braun in sixth place.

Then Braun is only 29 points ahead of Timothy Peters in seventh and Johnny Sauter is just sixth points back in eighth.

Both David Starr ninth and Rick Crawford have the same number of points and are just 68 points behind Sauter.

It looks like Horn maybe in the driver's seat title wise, with the largest points lead ever this late in the season. Look deeper into the points standing, their are some great battles going on as the final four races tick off.

Autograph Session

11 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series drivers are taking part in a free autograph session on Friday at Talladega behind the OV Hill South Grandstands Sections D & E from 2PM to 3PM Central time.

Those participating are; Colin Braun, James Buescher, Ricky Carmichael, Terry Cook, Todd Bodine, Rick Crawford, Tayler Malsam, T.J. Bell, Timothy Peters, Johnny Sauter, and David Starr.

The Rookie Chase

James Buescher was the Raybestos Rookie of the Race, at Martinsville with a 11th place finish, and won his fourth rookie honors of the season.

Buescher ran a really great race, stayed out of trouble, had a really good handling truck, earned a hard fought finish of 11th and just missed getting a top-10.

Raybestos Rookie of the Year Standings

Johnny Sauter                 212

Tayler Malsam                 176

James Buescher               160

Ricky Carmichael              127

Brian Ickler                       95

J.R. Fitzpatrick                  88

Chris Jones                       66

Brent Raymer                    65

Upcoming Races

Oct. 31 : The Mountain Dew 250 at Talladega Superspeedway on Speed at 3:30PM the Set-Up Show and 4:00PM Race Time (Saturday).

Nov. 6 : Lone Star 350K at Texas Motor Speedway on Speed at 8:30PM the Set-Up Show and 9:00PM Race Time (Friday).

Nov. 13 : Lucas Oil 150 at Phoenix International Raceway on Speed at 7:30PM the Set-Up Show and 8:00PM Race Time (Friday).

Track Facts

This week it's Talladega Superspeedway where the trucks have run since 2006.

Track Info

Track Length: 2.666 Miles

Race Length: 94 Laps/ 250.04 Miles

Banking: 33 Degrees (Corners); 18 Degrees (Frontstretch); 2 Degrees (Backstretch)

Lengths: 4,300 Feet (Frontstretch); 4,000 Feet (Backstretch)

Seating: 143,231

Race Winners: Todd Bodine two wins

Weekend Schedule

Friday, Oct. 30th

9:00AM - 11:00AM [10:00AM - 12:00PM Eastern] Final Practice

4:10PM [5:10PM Eastern] Qualifying (Two Laps/ All Positions)

Saturday, Oct. 31st

3:00PM [4:00PM Eastern] Race Time (94 Laps/ 250.04 Miles)

2009 Manufacturers Championship Standings

Toyota                       160

Chevrolet                    142

Ford                            93

Dodge                          67

2009 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Owners Points Standings

1.) Delana Harvick                  No. 33                 3,375

2.) Billy Ballew                       No. 51                  -178

3.) Rhonda Thorson                No. 88                  -224

4.) David Dollar                      No. 5                   -326

5.) Tom Deloach                    Nos. 1 & 17           -463

6.) Steve Germain                  No. 30                  -560

7.) Joe Scott                        No. 16                  -570

8.) Jack Roush                      No. 6                    -578

9.) Mike Curb                       No. 13                   -613

10.) Jim Harris Jr.                  No.24                    -681

2009 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Drivers Points Standings

1.) Ron Hornaday Jr.                      3,375

2.) Matt Crafton                            -224

3.) Mike Skinner                             -326

4.) Todd Bodine                             -560

5.) Brian Scott                              -570

6.) Colin Braun                              -578

7.) Timothy Peters                         -607

8.) Johnny Sauter                          -613

9.) David Starr                              -681

10.) Rick Crawford                         -681

Photo Credit: speedtv.com


The latest in the sports world, emailed daily.