NASCAR Races to Get Revving at Uniform Start Times in 2010

Rebecca SpenceCorrespondent IOctober 7, 2009

MARTINSVILLE, VA - OCTOBER 22:  Jimmie Johnson, driver of the #48 Lowe's Chevrolet, stands next to the Grandfather Clock trophy, following the NASCAR Nextel Cup Series Subway 500 on October 22, 2006 at Martinsville Speedway in Martinsville, Virgina.  (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images for NASCAR)

Wednesday afternoon Brian France, Chairman and CEO of NASCAR held a teleconference with David Hill, Chairman of FOX Sports, David Levy, President of Turner Broadcasting Distribution, Sales and Sports, and John Skipper, Executive Vice President, Content, ESPN.

The not simple task of pooling the networks was undertaken to appease the core fan of race fans. It took efforts from NASCAR, the networks and each of the tracks involved.

East coast afternoon races will start at 1pm , west coast races at 3pm and night races will start consistently at 7:30 pm eastern standard time.

There are only eight races that will not meet the new standard, and that is due to length, and other major events that conflict with scheduling such as the Coke 600.

2010 NASCAR Sprint Cup Schedule With Start Times (All Times Eastern)

Date      Day        Race Site                             Network              Start Time

Feb. 14   Sun.       Daytona 500                             FOX                    1:00 PM

Video Play Button
Videos you might like

Feb. 21   Sun.       Auto Club Speedway                  FOX                    3:00 PM

Feb. 28   Sun.       Las Vegas Motor Speedway        FOX                    3:00 PM

Mar. 7    Sun.       Atlanta Motor Speedway             FOX                    1:00 PM

Mar. 21  Sun.       Bristol Motor Speedway              FOX                    1:00 PM

Mar. 28  Sun.       Martinsville Speedway                FOX                    1:00 PM

Apr. 10   Sat.        Phoenix International Raceway   FOX                    7:30 PM

Apr. 18   Sun.       Texas Motor Speedway               FOX                   1:00 PM

Apr. 25   Sun.       Talladega Superspeedway           FOX                   1:00 PM

May 1    Sat.        Richmond International Raceway FOX                   7:30 PM

May 8    Sat.        Darlington Raceway                   FOX                    7:30 PM

May 16 Sun.       Dover International Speedway     FOX                    1:00 PM

May 30 Sun.       Lowe's Motor Speedway              FOX                    5:45 PM

Jun. 6      Sun.       Pocono Raceway                      TNT                    1:00 PM

Jun. 13   Sun.       Michigan International Speedway           TNT        1:00 PM

Jun. 20   Sun.       Infineon Raceway                     TNT                    3:00 PM

Jun. 27   Sun.       New Hampshire Motor Speedway           TNT        1:00 PM

Jul. 3       Sat.        Daytona International Speedway          TNT        7:30 PM

Jul. 10     Sat.        Chicagoland Speedway             TNT                   7:30 PM

Jul. 25     Sun.       Indianapolis Motor Speedway   ESPN                 1:00 PM

Aug. 1     Sun.       Pocono Raceway                     ESPN                   1:00 PM

Aug. 8     Sun.       Watkins Glen International          ESPN               1:00 PM

Aug. 15  Sun.       Michigan International Speedway  ESPN               1:00 PM

Aug. 21  Sat.        Bristol Motor Speedway               ESPN               7:30 PM

Sept. 5     Sun.       Atlanta Motor Speedway             ESPN               7:30 PM

Sept. 11   Sat.        Richmond International Raceway  ABC               7:30 PM

Sept. 19   Sun.       New Hampshire Motor Speedway  ABC                1:00 PM

Sept. 26   Sun.       Dover International Speedway      ABC                1:00 PM

Oct. 3      Sun.       Kansas Speedway                       ABC                1:00 PM

Oct. 10   Sun.       Auto Club Speedway                    ABC                3:00 PM

Oct. 16   Sat.        Lowe's Motor Speedway               ABC                7:30 PM

Oct. 24   Sun.       Martinsville Speedway                  ABC               1:00 PM

Oct. 31   Sun.       Talladega Superspeedway             ABC               1:00 PM

Nov. 7    Sun.       Texas Motor Speedway                 ABC               1:00 PM

Nov. 14  Sun.       Phoenix International Raceway     ABC                3:00 PM

Nov. 21  Sun.       Homestead-Miami Speedway        ABC                1:00 PM

slash iconYour sports. Delivered.

Enjoy our content? Join our newsletter to get the latest in sports news delivered straight to your inbox!