FIA Entry List Confirms Formula 1 Driver Numbers for 2014 Season

Matthew Walthert@@MatthewWalthertFeatured ColumnistJanuary 11, 2014

JEREZ DE LA FRONTERA, SPAIN - FEBRUARY 07:  A detail view of the car belonging to Jean-Eric Vergne of France and Scuderia Toro Rosso in the team garage during Formula One winter testing at Circuito de Jerez on February 7, 2013 in Jerez de la Frontera, Spain.  (Photo by Peter Fox/Getty Images)
Peter Fox/Getty Images

With fewer than three weeks remaining until the first test of the 2014 Formula One season, the FIA has released the official entry list for the new season.

Although most teams had already announced their driver pairings for 2014, the list confirms that Marussia will retain the services of Max Chilton. He will be paired, once again, with the previously confirmed Jules Bianchi. At this point, the only two unknowns left on the grid are the two Caterham seats.

Aside from this bit of news, the entry list confirms the drivers' new permanent numbers.

Marussia's Max Chilton
Marussia's Max ChiltonMark Thompson/Getty Images

In December, the FIA announced that, starting in 2014, F1 drivers would be able to choose their own numbers, which they would keep for the duration of their careers. Previously, the numbers had been assigned based on the teams' positions in the Constructors' Championship the year before.

Since that announcement, the drivers have been slowly leaking their choices (each driver was asked for three—in the case of conflicts, the driver who finished higher in 2013 would have priority).

Now, for the first time, we have a (nearly) complete list. Chilton's number was not announced, and until Caterham's drivers are announced, we will not know what numbers will be on the sides of the team's cars this year.

2014 FIA F1 World Championship—Entry List
Sebastian Vettel1Red Bull
Daniel Ricciardo3Red Bull
Lewis Hamilton44Mercedes
Nico Rosberg6Mercedes
Fernando Alonso14Ferarri
Kimi Raikkonen7Ferrari
Romain Grosjean8Lotus
Pastor Maldonado13Lotus
Jenson Button22McLaren
Kevin Magnussen20McLaren
Nico Hulkenberg27Force India
Sergio Perez11Force India
Adrian Sutil99Sauber
Esteban Gutierrez21Sauber
Jean-Eric Vergne25Toro Rosso
Daniil Kvyat26Toro Rosso
Felipe Massa19Williams
Valtteri Bottas77Williams
Jules Bianchi17Marussia
Max Chilton4Marussia
Kamui Kobayashi10Caterham
Marcus Ericsson9Caterham

Based on this list of driver requests, compiled by Sky Sports, it appears every driver, except Bianchi, received their first choices. Bianchi originally requested Nos. 7, 27 or 77:

However, Kimi Raikkonen also chose No. 7, Nico Hulkenberg requested 27 and Valtteri Bottas selected 77. All three drivers finished ahead of Bianchi in the 2013 Drivers' Championship, so the Frenchman was forced to go with his fourth choice:

Finally, Sebastian Vettel will use No. 1 for as long as he is world champion. When his reign ends, though, his permanent number will be No. 5.

With that out of the way, the merchandisers can start producing driver caps and shirts, the car liveries can be finalized and the fans can look forward to some racing.

Update, January 14: Chilton has confirmed his number for next season:

Update, January 21: Caterham has announced Kamui Kobayashi and Marcus Ericsson as its drivers for 2014. James Allen is reporting their numbers as 10 and 9, respectively. 

Follow Matthew Walthert on Twitter @MatthewWalthert