Danny Granger Edges Out Devin Harris For Most Improved Player

Bhavik DarjiCorrespondent IMay 13, 2009

Earlier this afternoon, Indiana Pacer Danny Granger won his first-ever Most Improved Player award, presented by KIA Motors. He edged out the New Jersey Nets' Devin Harris by 25 points to become the third Pacer since Jermaine O'Neal in 2002 to win the award.

The Most Improved Player is awarded to an athlete who has shown substantial improvement from the previous year. On behalf of Granger, KIA Motors will donate one brand new Borrego SUV or Sedona minivan to the Shepard Community Center, located in Indianapolis.

Last year, Granger played in a total of 80 games, averaging then-career highs 19.6 PPG, 6.1 RPG and 2.1 APG. With Jermaine O'Neal traded during the offseason, Granger became the new face of the franchise.

This year, Granger averaged 25.8 PPG, fifth in the NBA. He also averaged 2.7 APG, a career high as well. Granger is the first player in NBA history to up his scoring average by five points or more for three straight seasons.

However, not a single player awarded this honor has gone on to win a championship since its introduction back in 1985-1986 season.

First place votes are worth five points, second place votes are worth three points and third place votes are worth one. Here is the order of the top five voting results:

Video Play Button
Videos you might like

Danny Granger(Pacers) 364 total votes.

Devin Harris(Nets) 339 total votes

Kevin Durant(Thunder) 83 total votes

Paul Milsap(Jazz) 77 total votes

Nene(Nuggets) 58 total votes.