Strikeforce: Shamrock vs Diaz Full Results

Craig JolicoeurCorrespondent IApril 12, 2009

CHICAGO- OCTOBER 25:  People attend the UFC 90 at UFC's Ultimate Fight Night at Allstate Arena on October 25, 2008 in Chicago, Illinois. (Photo by Tasos Katopodis/Getty Images)


Strikeforce put on a solid first show during their first televised Showtime fight card last night.

The night’s main event saw Nick Diaz dominate Strikeforce front man Frank Shamrock, while former Strikeforce lightweight champion Gilbert Melendez regained the interim title with an easy victory over Rodrigo Damm.

The fight of the night was most likely the evenly matched battle between Scott Smith and Benji Radach. While Radach appeared to be easily up on the scorecards through the first two rounds, Smith landed a brutal strike to Radach’s chin midway through the third round to pick up an improbable KO victory.

Main Card

Nick Diaz defeated Frank Shamrock via TKO in Round 2. Gilbert Melendez defeated Rodrigo Damm via KO in Round 2. Scott Smith defeated Benji Radach via KO in Round 3. Cristiane Santos defeated Hitomi Akano via TKO in Round 2. Brett Rogers defeated Abongo Humphrey via TKO in Round 2.

Under Card

Luke Rockhold defeated Buck Meredith via submission in Round 1. Eric Lawson defeated Waylon Kennell via TKO in Round 1. Raul Castillo defeated Brandon Michaels via submission in Round 1. James Terry defeated Zak Bucia via decision. Shingo Kahara defeated Jeremy Tavares via KO in Round 2.


The latest in the sports world, emailed daily.