Which Is the Top College Football Team in Each Conference This Decade?

BabyTateSenior Writer IFebruary 27, 2009

Since we last left the discussion of what conference has the "bragging rights" as far as who is the best, a parallel conversation regarding who actually has those rights in the present decade in each of the BCS Conferences seems to be in order.

The Big 12

Although it may irritate the Texas Longhorn followers, we are compelled to rank Oklahoma as the premier team of the Big 12 during the current decade. 

The Sooners deserve this listing because they have an unbeaten BCS championship season, as does Texas, but have won the league title six times in this decade compared to once by the Longhorns.

The Big Ten

The immediate response would be that Ohio State has reclaimed supremacy of this league with its mastery of a regressing Michigan program.

That is not altogether true.

Since 2000, the Buckeyes have two outright titles and have shared three. The Wolverines have one outright title and have shared two.

Video Play Button
Videos you might like

Penn State and Iowa have also won shares of two titles each.

Even in Ohio State's 2002 BCS title year, they shared the conference championship with Iowa.

The problem with the Big Ten is the fact that they have no championship game, and thus muddle through the shared situation as did the SEC and Big 12 conferences years ago.

That's tradition for you.


This was supposed to be an easy one with Miami winning every year. It has not happened that way.

Since coming over from the Big East, the Hurricanes have not won a single conference title. On the other hand, another Big East refugee, Virginia Tech, has won the ACC title three times in the past five years. 

To make matters even worse for Hurricane fans, the hated Florida State Seminoles still own the bragging rights of the league with four conference titles in this decade.

The Pacific 10

Now here is the easy one. Southern California has won the league title outright four times and shared it on three occasions. The Trojans also won the BCS title in 2004.

Oregon pipes in with one outright title and one shared title in the current decade.

California, Oregon State, Washington, Washington State, and Arizona State have all shared a title at some point as well.

The Big East

The clear leader is Miami, with three outright titles and one shared title. In addition, the Hurricanes won the BCS title in 2001.

But wait, that team isn't even in the Big East anymore.

A more reasonable view would be to look at the current league members and acknowledge West Virginia's three shared and one outright title underpins the Mountaineer claim as the current team of the decade in the Big East.

The Southeastern Conference

Have time for an argument? The SEC produces a brain-buster with LSU and Florida.

The Tigers have won two BCS titles and three conference titles. So have the Gators.

Georgia won the league twice and Auburn once, but neither can enter the argument about who is the team of the decade in the SEC.

The Solomon way to resolve this argument is to say that since 2009 is the final year of the decade, we will wait until this season is over before passing judgment.

Hey, maybe the SEC should go back to sharing titles!

So there we have it. The premier team of each BCS conference has been saluted and recognized.

What we need now is an argument over internal statistics such as who won the most conference games, who was ranked higher more often, and even who won more division crowns and lost more title games. Like that matters.

You know who the best team in each conference is this decade. Sometimes it goes down hard to swallow, but we all have to take our medicine and hope we can do better the next year.