NFL Playoffs Are for The Birds

Thomas KettlerCorrespondent IJanuary 12, 2009

In case you didn't realize it, there are five teams in the NFL that use birds as mascots.

They are the Seattle Seahawks, Arizona Cardinals, Atlanta Falcons, and Philadelphia Eagles of the NFC, while the only birdbrains in the AFC are the Baltimore Ravens.

Of those, only the Seahawks failed to make the playoffs.

Of the four that made the playoffs, three are still alive. The Falcons were the only ones that lost, ironically to another bird team—the Cardinals.

The NFC representative shall necessarily be for the birds and the AFC team may also be.

It would be especially funny if the Super Bowl featured the Eagles and Ravens since both were No. 6 seeds that only made the playoffs on the last day of the season.

Thus, this year's NFL really took flight!


The latest in the sports world, emailed daily.