Beanpot 2012: Will BC and BU's Streak Finally Come to an End?

Ryan RudnanskySenior Writer IFebruary 6, 2012

Boston College and Boston University have combined for the last 18 Beanpot championships, dating all the way back to 1994.

In the fiercest tournament in college hockey, Harvard and Northeastern can hardly be called rivals of the two superpowers anymore.

But the streak has to end sometime...right?

Well, not yet.

With apologies to Crimson and Huskies fans, this figures to be another year in which the Eagles and Terriers exert their dominance in Boston.

As the four squads battle on Monday night, it appears to be more of the same from the two favorites. Boston University is ranked third in the nation with 16-8-1 overall record, while Boston College is ranked ninth with a 16-10-1 overall record.

First of all, as the Terriers battle the Crimson, we've seen what BU can do. The program has had numerous distractions throughout the year, including losing Charlie Coyle in the wake of Hockey East's leading scorer Corey Trivino's arrest on indecent assault charges in December.

But the Terriers have shown they can handle distractions - they went on a five-game winning streak to start the season. There have been some troubles since, but they're such an explosive offensive unit that it's hard to see the Crimson downing them.

As for the Eagles, they have a wealth of talent, starting with junior Chris Kreider. The New York Rangers' 2009 first-round draft pick not only has a team-high 16 goals and 30 points this season, but he's also scored four goals in the Beanpot.

Video Play Button
Videos you might like

You also have senior Barry Almeida - who shares the team lead in goals scored with Kreider - and Chicago Blackhawks 2010 first-round draft pick Kevin Hayes.

The Eagles also have a tremendous penalty kill. In fact, they may have the best in college hockey, surrendering only 17 power play goals in 176 chances.

Northeastern proves to be a challenge for Boston College. The Huskies have lost all three matchups this season, but all games have come down to the third period or overtime. Players such as freshman forward Ludwig Karlsson, Steve Quailer, Cody Ferrerio, Braden Pimm and last year’s Eberly Trophy winner, Chris Rawlings, make this a dangerous team.

It also doesn't hurt that first-year head coach Jim Madigan won with the Huskies twice as a player in 1984 and 1986 and once as an assistant coach in 1988.

However, in the end, I see the Eagles' talent being too much to overcome in another close game.

There are some reasons to believe the Huskies can break the trend this year, but they will fall short once again.

Follow <span class=