Default-user-icon-profile

Not Dave Kuhn

  •  
     
    Generating profile stats...

Bulletin Board

Default-user-icon-comment
or to post this comment
  • Dan Talintyre posted 632 days ago

    Dan Talintyre

    Hi James. Thanks for hitting me up. I saw the incident live and thought it had hit his head, but after looking at replays of the incident (live) it did clearly strike his arm.

    The keys for me are—was it intentional, did it hit his hand, did he have a chance to move? They are the questions to ask. It wasn't intentional and the close proximity to the header means that there is no way in the world he could move. It was essentially simultaneous, and the perfect example of ball-to-hand rather than handball.

    Technically, I can concede that it may have been given, but it would have been a less-logical and correct refereeing decision than the red-card for Nani—which was already pretty controversial.

    That's why take anyway. I'd say no handball, no penalty and no red card either.

    Cheers, Dan.