Breaking News: Peyton Manning Wins a Record 3rd MVP in a Landslide

Ryan MichaelSenior Writer IIIJanuary 2, 2009

The speculation is over. It's official.

Today the Associated Press officially named the 2008 NFL MVP.

The winner?

Peyton Manning, for the third time in his illustrious career, no less.

Johnny Unitas and Brett Favre will need to take a step aside, as they no longer stand alone as the only quarterbacks to ever achieve this honor. Now Peyton Manning has become just the third quarterback in league history to win this prestigious award three times.

If you're counting, that's more MVP awards than Bart Starr, Joe Montana, Dan Marino, John Elway, Steve Young, or Tom Brady.

The voting this year was expected to be tight, but Peyton Manning ended up finishing first in the voting, winning by a landslide.

Out of the 50 possible votes, Manning received 32 of them with Chad Pennington and Michael Turner finishing in second place with only four a piece.

Worthy of note, Philip Rivers received two votes while Kurt Warner and Chris Johnson each received one.

The league MVP Peyton Manning had led the Colts on a nine-game winning streak after finishing 3-4 after Week 8. He led the Colts to seven fourth-quarter comebacks this season, bringing them back from 21, 17, and 14-point margins in the final minutes in order to secure victory. During that streak Manning was 209-of-290 for 2,248 yards, 17 touchdown passes and only three interceptions!

The heroics involved in carrying his team on his shoulders in the wake of two knee surgeries is nothing short of heroic and for that, Peyton does deserve recognition.

After today's third MVP award, he's even closer to standing in a league of his own when his career is all said and done.