NHL Realignment: What the NHL Should Name the New Conferences

Anthony Pucik@AnthonyPucikCorrespondent IDecember 15, 2011

NHL Realignment: What the NHL Should Name the New Conferences

0 of 5

    The NHL has decided to realign the conferences, taking effect in the 2012-2013 season. This decision has created four regional conferences in order to minimize travel time and create more home at home games. 

    This new alignment places the top four teams of each conference in the playoffs, but what will the names of these conferences be?

    Here is my opinion of what each conference should be named:

Conference A: The Western Conference

1 of 5

    Teams: Anaheim Ducks, Calgary Flames, Colorado Avalanche, Edmonton Oilers, Los Angeles Kings, Phoenix Coyotes, San Jose Sharks, Vancouver Canucks 

    It's not very original, but I cannot think of a better name for this conference than the Western Conference.

    Each of the teams in the conference are on the west side of the country, so it would only be fitting to name Conference A the new Western Conference.

Conference B: The Central Conference

2 of 5

    Teams: Chicago Blackhawks, Columbus Blue Jackets, Dallas Stars, Detroit Red Wings, Minnesota Wild, Nashville Predators, St. Louis Blues, Winnipeg Jets

    Really the same reasons that Conference A should be the Western Conference, Conference B should be the Central Conference.

    Every team in this conference is placed in the center of the country, and since the Red Wings were the center of this realignment (pardon the pun) Conference B is the Central Conference.

Conference C: The Eastern Conference

3 of 5

    Teams: Boston Bruins, Buffalo Sabres, Florida Panthers, Montreal Canadians, Ottawa Senators, Tampa Bay Lightning, Toronto Maple Leafs

    I know, I know I don't get any points for originality, but why not keep the names of the old conferences. All the teams in Conference C are on the East Coast, so why not?

Conference D: The Atlantic Conference

4 of 5

    Teams: Carolina Hurricanes, New Jersey Devils, New York Islanders, New York Rangers, Philadelphia Flyers, Pittsburgh Penguins, Washington Capitals

    Probably the most original name I came up with, Conference D is dubbed the Atlantic Conference.

    All the teams are on the Atlantic coast, with a majority of the teams being members of the current Atlantic Division; I see it fitting to call it the Atlantic Conference.


5 of 5

    Is it perfect? No, but neither is the realignment.

    Only time will tell what the NHL decides to name the conferences, but with the craziness that was the realignment, I would not be surprised if the names come out of nowhere.