New York Mets logoNew York Mets

Kapler's catch earns 2008 TYIB award

Lance LeQueAnalyst IDecember 19, 2008

Kapler's grab was chosen as the year's top play in's annual This Year in Baseball Awards presented by State Farm, which was voted on by fans. A record 12 million votes were cast, eclipsing last year's total of 9.6 million.

Kapler garnered 16.4 percent of the vote to edge Cubs center fielder Reed Johnson, who made a diving catch in Cincinnati on April 25. Johnson's play received 15.9 percent of the vote, followed by Mets center fielder Carlos Beltran's homer-saving catch (14.9 percent) and Indians second baseman Asdrubal Cabrera's unassisted triple play (14.4 percent).

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices