Texas Longhorns Football

My Heisman Ballot

The Dead Guy SECAnalyst IDecember 11, 2008

Shotgun Spratling at The Blue Workhorse has put together the "2008 Sports Blog Heisman Trophy Winner" to be revealed on Thursday. Here's my ballot:

1) Tim Tebow

I tried to not make this pick so I wouldn't come off like an SEC Homer, but after watching Tebow put the Gators on his shoulders in the 4th quarter of the SEC Championship Game, I don't know how you don't vote him  No. 1.

He doesn't have the gaudy TD numbers that Bradford and McCoy (and Harrel and Daniel and Reesing) have, but he actually had to face a real defense occasionally. The way the Gators have performed since their week five loss to Ole Miss, they  have been nothing short of remarkable, and Tebow is the engine that makes them go.

2) Colt McCoy

The trophy was his to lose for the majority of the early season. He completed less than 60% of his passes just once this season - the 'Horns lone loss this season to Texas Tech. For the season he completed 77.6% of his passes for 32 TDs and 7 INTs.

He tailed off a bit towards the end of the season, but he beat Bradford head to head, so he gets the 2nd place vote.

3) Sam Bradford

The offensive numbers speak for themselves. He's got a 48/6 TD/INT ratio and the Sooners have scored 60 plus points in five straight games. He's got two things working against him as far as I can tell.

First, OU lost straight up to Texas on a neutral field. Secondly, the whole Sooner team is unbelievable. You could plug another QB under center at OU a lot easier than you could at Texas or Florida. Tebow especially is irreplaceable.

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. BleacherReport.com is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices