College Football 2011: Year of the Quarterback

« Prev
1 of 11
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
College Football 2011: Year of the Quarterback
Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images
Florida's Tim Tebow was one of the elite quarterbacks in college football in 2009.

College football in 2009 was often referred to as the "Year of the Quarterback."

After all, the game's headline names were Florida's Tim Tebow (the 2007 Heisman Trophy winner), Texas' Colt McCoy and Oklahoma's Sam Bradford, who took home the trophy that season.

Fast-forward to 2011, and the situation is similar, though with even more depth.

With Oregon's LaMichael James temporarily out with a dislocated elbow and South Carolina's Marcus Lattimore now out for the year with a knee injury, the possibility exists that Alabama tailback Trent Richardson could be the only non-quarterback to finish in the top 10 of the Heisman voting.

Perhaps that isn't fair, as the stiff arm is supposed to go to college football's best player.

Charles Woodson (Michigan defensive back/kick returner, 1997) excepted, though, it only has been awarded to the game's top offensive player; thus the tremendous campaigns being put together by players like Louisiana State defensive back Tyrann Mathieu and South Carolina defensive lineman Melvin Ingram (just to name two) probably will be ignored when it is time to hand out the Heisman.

With that said, there are quite a few quarterbacks making a legitimate case for the award. Here are 10 listed in no specific order.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook

College Football

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.