Boxing Double Knockdown of the Day: Paul Samuels Round 3 KO of Cello Renda

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories

KO’s and knockdowns have always been synonymous in the sport of boxing, but witnessing a double knockdown is a rarity in itself. Well, that’s what happened when middleweights Cella Renda and Paul Samuels threw leather in late 2009.

Fighting on the undercard of the welterweight title clash between Matthew Hatton and Lovemore N’Dou, both Renda and Samuels gave the paying public their money’s worth, with a scintillating display of raw aggression for the entire duration of the three rounds.

The first round was a see-saw affair—when the 36-year-old Samuel’s hit the canvas after being caught with a counter left-hook from Renda, 24.

Samuels beat the count, and soon after unleashed a flurry of punches of his own, which rocked Renda.

At the beginning of the second round, the spectacular happened—both combatants were going hell for leather, swinging punches from the fences when they both simultaneously connected flush with left-hooks, hitting the canvas in unison.

Both fighters managed to beat the count, (although Samuels barely beat the nine count) and resumed their warfare, before the bell brought a halt to the second round.

That was one of the most extraordinary rounds in British boxing and boxing as a whole.

However, the third round saw Samuels pile on the pressure, forcing referee Terry O’Connor to stop the bout, saving Renda from further punishment.

Renda’s thoughts on the double knockdown:

“It was mental, I took it in the next day watching it on TV,” recalled Renda. “It was kind of a flash knockdown for me. It wasn’t a heavy knockdown and as you could see I was up straight away. If it’s a bad knock down you take the full 8 as it gives you the extra time to clear your head but it didn’t affect me at all as I got up straight away.

“I wondered why he was down although I thought I caught him as well as getting tagged myself, I saw the ref counting and thought he was going to count Samuels out but he just made the count.”

Suffice to say, a double knockdown doesn’t occur every day in boxing.

Your thoughts and comments on any other synchronized canvas kissing, please.

 

Load More Stories

Follow B/R on Facebook

Boxing

Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.