Victor Cruz Fumble: Why the Referees Got the Call Right (Video)

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories

With less than three minutes to go, the New York Giants had the ball and were driving for the go-ahead touchdown in their matchup with the Arizona Cardinals.  Manning completed a long pass to Victor Cruz.  Cruz appeared to fumble the ball before being touched down by contact, which would have snuffed out the comeback and likely would have sealed the game for the Cardinals.

The explanation from the league following the game was that Cruz was giving himself up, and thus he was down where he hit the ground.

While I understand the frustration on the part of the Cardinals with the outcome of this play, I have to say, the referees got it right.

While he may not have properly expressed his intent to give himself up, a look at the replay clearly shows that he was doing just that.  Cruz dives into the ground, then lets the ball go and turns to head back to the huddle.

Why would he just set the ball down if not because he assumed the play was over?

So while it was a shaky job at best by Cruz, the only reasonable conclusion is that the referees correctly interpreted Cruz's intent, which was to end the play by giving himself up.

Follow New York Giants from B/R on Facebook

Follow New York Giants from B/R on Facebook and get the latest updates straight to your newsfeed!

New York Giants

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.