2008: This Year in Baseball

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
2008: This Year in Baseball

Every year at the beginning of the offseason, America votes for the best hitter, starter, rookie, manager, closer, setup man, defense, performance, play, moment, oddity, executive, and postseason moment.

The Red Sox have eight players, plus coaching staff as nominees. That includes MVP Dustin Pedroia (for both hitter and defense), Japanese pitcher Daisuke Matsuzaka, speedy rookie Jacoby Ellsbury, intense closer Jonathan Papelbon, lefty Jon Lester, Manny Ramirez, J.D Drew (twice, both for postseason moments), Coco Crisp, Theo Epstein, and finally Terry Francona.

Voting ends on Monday, Dec. 8. The voting system is very weird for TYIB. You can vote as many times as you want. So, if I wanted Dustin Pedroia to win Defensive Player of the Year really badly, I could vote for him 20 times, or 30 times. It's not a bad system, it's just different.

Voting ends soon, so why are you sitting and reading when you could be voting. To vote go to: http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/awards/y2008/tyib/index.jsp.

Hey, you don't even have to be 18!

Follow Boston Red Sox from B/R on Facebook

Follow Boston Red Sox from B/R on Facebook and get the latest updates straight to your newsfeed!

Boston Red Sox

Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.