Wrestling: 10 Ex-Champions Who Never Should Have Won a World Title

« Prev
1 of 11
Next »
Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse the slideshow
Wrestling: 10 Ex-Champions Who Never Should Have Won a World Title
Peter Kramer/Getty Images

I know we have discussed this before, but back in the day, it was truly a privilege to be the world champion.

In the NWA, it meant nine men met in a room and haggled over who would wear the strap, who would be the top contenders and what feuds would arise from it.

It was secret stuff and oh so important to keep the mystique of wrestling and the kayfabe that went along with it.

Today, a title is thrown around like it is a football on the arm of Tom Brady.

There are those who made great champions (Dory Funk Jr.) and those we did not care for, who are part of this list. For whatever reason, titles were bestowed upon them in an effort to create drama, a change in guard or make transitions from heel to heel or face to face.

All failed miserably.

Now, the titles change hands so fast there is no real honor and the fact that one person gets the title handed back to them time and again (Randy Orton, John Cena) just means they either put up a damn good fight to keep it or the bottom line of drawing money still reigns supreme.

Begin Slideshow »

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

By signing up for our newsletter, you agree to our Terms and Privacy Policy.

Thanks for signing up.