Big 12 Football

College Football: Race for the Biletnikoff Award Doesn't Always Go to the Swift

Big Red NetworkSenior Writer INovember 26, 2008

The list of 10 semifinalists for the Biletnikoff Award was whittled down to three finalists this week, and it’s a Big 12-only affair with Michael Crabtree, Dez Bryant, and Jeremy Maclin up for the trophy. That’s good.

As loaded as this conference is behind center—all 3 finalists for the O’Brien Award hail from the Big 12—it hasn’t hurt the spectacular signal-callers that the Big 12 is also the preeminent receiving conference in the country as well. The Mackey Award (TEs) is exclusively Big 12 too.

You can’t really argue with the greatness of Crabtree, Bryant, and Maclin. All are deserving. The semifinalists, however, is a bit more difficult to pinpoint.

Namely, where was Nate Swift’s name? In addition to the three finalists, three more Big 12 receivers were listed among the 10 semifinalists for the Biletnikoff award: Chase Coffman, Kerry Meier, and Quan Cosby.

» Continue Reading

→ Visit Big Red Network for your daily Husker football fix.

Where can I comment?

Stay on your game

Latest news, insights, and forecasts on your teams across leagues.

Choose Teams
Get it on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Real-time news for your teams right on your mobile device.

Copyright © 2017 Bleacher Report, Inc. Turner Broadcasting System, Inc. All Rights Reserved. is part of Bleacher Report – Turner Sports Network, part of the Turner Sports and Entertainment Network. Certain photos copyright © 2017 Getty Images. Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of Getty Images is strictly prohibited. AdChoices