UFC 135: Results, News, Reaction for Jon Jones vs. Rampage Jackson

Use your ← → (arrow) keys to browse more stories
UFC 135: Results, News, Reaction for Jon Jones vs. Rampage Jackson

Jon Jones and Rampage Jackson are set to face off inside the Octagon on Saturday, September 24 to figure out whom the UFC light heavyweight title truly belongs to.  Currently the title resides with Jones, who captured it with a third round TKO victory over Mauricio "Shogun" Rua at UFC 128.  Jackson, on the other hand has stated that he will be heading to Denver's Pepsi Center to take his belt back.

Jones' ascent to the top of the UFC's light heavyweight division has been stunning. Jones made his professional debut in 2008 and in less than three years found himself a UFC champion with a record of 13-1. Jones' sole loss came via disqualification for landing illegal 12-to-6 elbows to Matt Hamill.

Rampage, had been fighting professionally since the 24-year old Jones was a 12 years old. In that time he has put together a record of 32-8, capturing both the UFC light heavyweight title as well as the PRIDE middleweight crown.

Also appearing on the UFC 135 fight card will be welterweights Josh Koscheck and Matt Hughes. Both fighters will be coming off long layoffs as well as devastating losses heading into Saturday. Hughes last set foot in the Octagon in November 2010, suffering a 21-second knockout loss to BJ Penn at UFC 123. Koscheck has not fought since dropping a unanimous decision to UFC welterweight champion Georges St-Pierre at UFC 124. Koscheck suffered a broken orbital bone in that December 2010 scrap, the damage required surgery and a long period of rehab.

The full fight card for UFC 135:

Jon Jones vs. Quinton "Rampage" Jackson: Jon Jones wins via submission at 1:14 of Round Four


Josh Koscheck vs. Matt Hughes: Josh Koscheck wins via KO at 4:59 of Round One

Travis Browne  vs. Rob Broughton: Travis Browne wins via unanimous decision (30-27 x 3)

Nate Diaz vs. Takanori Gomi: Nate Diaz wins via submission at 4:27 of Round One

 Ben Rothwell vs. Mark Hunt: Mark Hunt wins via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-27, 30-27)

Tony Ferguson vs. Aaron Riley: Tony Ferguson wins via TKO at 5:00 of Round One

Tim Boetsch vs. Nick Ring: Tim Boetsch wins via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)

James Te Huna vs. Ricardo Romero: James Te Huna wins via KO at :47 of Round One

Takeya Mizugaki vs. Cole Escovedo: Takeya Mizugaki wins via TKO at 4:30 of Round Two

Junior Assuncao vs. Eddie Yagin: Junior Assuncao wins via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 30-27)

Check back often as Bleacher Report will have pre-fight, in-fight and post-fight coverage of UFC 135 right here.

Load More Stories

Follow B/R on Facebook


Subscribe Now

We will never share your email address

Thanks for signing up.